Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frankenstein

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
cima
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This version had Miller as the Monster and Cumberbatch as the doctor. i preferred this version to the Cast A. Cumberbatch brought a sarcastic tone to his Dr. Frankenstein, one that serves him well in other roles especially Sherlock. Miller's Monster was much more childlike, while Cumberbatch's was edgier. Either way, both versions were captivating and brought to incredible life (with no pun intended) by director Danny Boyle and his design team. It was fascinating to see this and then to see the same team on the much bigger stage, so to speak, that was the Opening Ceremony of the 2012 London Olympics.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors, skillful direction, visionary set design
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
renego
from jamison, pa
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The acting was unbelievable. The story was gripping. The sets were clever and magnificent. A fantastic 2 hours well spent!
Pros great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Hildah
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved this twist on the Frankenstein tale. Would see it again to better pick up on some of the social commentary.
Pros great story, great actors, dialogue
Cons took a while to get going
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
C5268
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of the best plays I've ever seen. Somehow, the camera work made it feel live, as opposed to a recording of a play. It was perfectly cast!
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top notch production, visually dazzling

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
TheRhetoricalPurpose
from Bryn Mawr, PA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The kind of show where you can't take your eyes off the screen. I am still haunted by the entrance of the engine across the stage, with everything it represents. I found the show to be a well-executed blend of emotion and metaphor to bring all the issues surrounding Frankenstein alive. I imagine this performance would have been completely all-consuming when experienced live.
Pros well paced, great actors, awesome set design
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Amazing!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer avatar
rvnshadow
I am still reeling from watching last night's performance of Frankenstein. The Stage and lighting were beautiful. Benedict Cumberbatch was a magnificent Victor. BUT, Jonny lee, OH Jonny Lee broke my heart as The Creature. His performance is truly Olivier award worthy!! From his childlike innocence in the beginning to his Last " Don't Leave Me Alone" he brought me to tears several times. I wish there was another showing so I could see Benedict in the Role. NTL PLEASE release this on DVD.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frankenstein

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer avatar
stanmickey
from Bryn Mawr, PA
Fantastic! This is a "don't miss" event.
Every part of the show was perfect.
Would love to see it again with the role reversal.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More theatre at the Movies

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer avatar
A423
One of the best experiences ever! The performances and staging were excellent.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Screening was cancelled.

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
misterbee
And Movietickets.com was still stupid enough to email me an invitation to review the film. How stupid is that?
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frankenstein

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Customer avatar
stagedoorjohnny
from greater LA
Wonderfully filmed--it kept the feeling of a live stage production and yet was filmic enough to not feel static. Beginning with the 'birth' scene, Benedict Cumberbatch was terrific as the Monster--I can't wait to see the role reversal next week. I was also impressed with the staging and the lighting. Thanks for this series, NTLive, this was my sixth and I've loved all of them (well, not Phedre so much, but that was Racine's fault, not yours!)
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frankenstein

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer avatar
nine9
from Philadelphia, Pa
I would recommend this show to everyone I know. The stage design was
very unique and the approach to the
story was wonderful. The acting was outstanding and the camera work for the movie theatre audience was superb.
This is a good chance to see marvelous theatre from the UK without spending the money to fly to London.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frankenstein

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer avatar
mlgjem9
from Los Angeles, CA, United States
Fabulous, fabulous.
My only disappointment was that I bought tickets for next week's showing with the two lead roles reversed and was told it had been canceled due to "technical difficulties"
We so wanted to see those two amazing actors switch roles. However, that aside, it was a thrilling taping of this play with brilliant performances.
Just a fantastic production that only The National could have pulled off with that beautiful set, lights ... oh, my.
A wonderful adaptation of a classic story.
I have told all of my friends to go to the encore showing on Tuesday, March 22.
Just the first fifteen minutes of the Monster being born was worth the price of the ticket! I cant say enough about this show. I absolutely loved it.
I only hope the technical difficulties can be fixed with the other taping, so I can see it again. from two different perspectives.
I'm so grateful for NTLive.
Bravo. And thank you.
Sincerely,
Margaret Goss
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.