Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hamlet

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
clubsodaleah
from King of Prussia, PA
This was an incredible performance. All of the acting was superb but the performance by Rory Kinnea was breathtaking. The only thing better would have been to be there in person. I have seen Hamlet several times and read it at least twice and I was mesmerized. I hope to see more of these broadcasts. It was a great day.
Thank you National Theatre Company for making this possible
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Presentation

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
NonLiterary
from Bryn Mawr, PA
I took my 12 year old daughter who is studying Hamlet in school and she and I both enjoyed it tremendously. Hamlet's performance was done so that it made it easier for the audience to know (and feel) what what happening for those who are not well versed in Shakespeare. The Olde English was mixed with contemporary costumes, music and props which was a perfect way to make the experience more identifiable (especially to my 12 year old). Definitely recommend to others.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great production.

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Gnomie
from Woodland Hills
The actor playing Hamlet was fantastic. Ophelia was also very good. The sets were great. The modern music was a very interesting accompaniment. Very well lit as well.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Superb, Fresh Interpretation of Hamlet

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
RJS90069
from West Hollywood, CA
Although by no means the first modern dress version of "Hamlet," this was the freshest and most intelligent interpretation I have ever seen of what is undoubtedly the greatest play in the English language (and, perhaps, the greatest play in any language).
The brilliant approach taken by director Nicholas Hytner, placing the action in a contemporary police state, brought forth the justifiable paranoia of the characters, who feared their every move being spied upon, thus underscoring for viewers subtleties of meaning lost in other productions I've attended. This combined with the superb acting of Rory Kinnear in the title role and uniformly excellent support from the lead players make this stunning production a must-see.
Technically, the camera work was excellent, but my only complaint was the occasional and annoying split-second drop-out of the sound, a satellite transmission glitch I suppose.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HAMLET

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
mmmouthy
from los angeles
brilliant. in both content and presentation. felt as if i were there and wanted to get on a plane to London right after. Actors were superb as was the camerawork. will see all the productions. One sour note, website offered a free third ticket with the purchase of two and the use of a Chase Freedom card. When I got there, was told we had only two tickets--printout said two but showed a promotional discount whi9ch they ignored. we had to buy a third ticket. one other thing bothered me....audience skewed OLD. where are the 'kids'. they should not be missing this!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb and gripping experience

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Koechel
from Los Angeles, CA
This is a very unique production of HAMLET and it scores on all fronts: acting, direction, sets, lighting, etc. Although I have seen many different productions of this play I was never so completely enthralled as I was watching this production. The 3 and 1/2 hours flew by swiftly and at the end the entire audience clapped as though they were at the live stage production. A complete triumph!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
LAPlaywrite
Rory Kinnear's intelligence illuminated familiar language and made it incandescent... as if the images were sparking at us for the first time.
The swordplay was the best I've ever seen in any production of "Hamlet." Even the lighting, not usually very good (to American eyes) on the Olivier's semi-thrust stage, evoked freezing Elsinore to wonderful effect.
How gratifying... that theatregoers in 16 countries could experience this superb production on the same day. Bravo.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Elsinore by Way of the Chinese Theatre in Hollywoo

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
NatenDana
from Los Angeles
Strong Concept (creepy Postmodern Political Presence) with bold choices - a few mis-steps but a solid cast especially Hamlets 1 and 2, Polonius, Ophelia - great camera work and sound makes this simulcast hum
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.