Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth seeing!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
ladyskywalker
from DC
A quiet, thoughtful film, at times moving, at times funny, worth seeing. While not so exciting as to keep you up at night, it's great character development and beautiful scenery. Go!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Movie!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
LovelyLana
from Omaha, NE
My daughter saw this movie and called me and told me I had to see it. Great movie! Not religious but some undertones. Each of the travellers were there for their own personal journey. Some spiritual, some for health reasons, each for their own. I left this movie and came home and did research on this walk. This is a trip both my daughter and I now are planning to do in the near future. Loved it!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poignant and delightful

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
DJsThoughts
The movie met my hopes and expectations for it. The storyline is so well written and believable that it's difficult not to imagine you are watching a biographical movie. Wonderful concept, well acted, moving, and inspirational.
While there were a few predictable moments (I'll let you figure out what they were on your own!) they made this reviewer happy that they occurred as opposed to disappointed they did-in other words those couple of moments didn't come across as cheesy. It was more a "I knew that was going to happen!" and it was delightful versus "Oh my god I knew that was going to happen..." and you felt like rolling your eyes.
One of the aspects where the movie hits the target smack in the bull's-eye was the balance of visual symmetry with verbiage. I've read several books and articles by those who have made the pilgrimage and aspire to one day do part if not all of it myself, and what I've come away with is that it is a very personal and sometimes solitary experience. Emilio captures this and didn't clutter his movie up with a lot of words. The actors also did a great job of conveying their characters feelings through visual/physical acting. For instance when Tom (Sheen's character) grabs the backpack in the water, the anguish previously on his face is replaced with relief and a sort of fear as he holds on for dear life-not because he's going to drown but because he is embracing his son.
The scenery is gorgeous and overall I think many will be inspired to make the pilgrimage themselves after seeing this wonderfully heartfelt movie. I think I'll head out for a hike now-cheers!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
deebin5
An utter, pretentious bore. 4 strangers find each other on a useless self-discovery hike and that never get to know each other. Filled with trite dialog and non-humorous situations.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Way

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Moliere
from Morristown, New Jersey
Stop everything and go and see this beautiful movie about faith and our lives. It's the most powerful, beautiful, edifying movie I've ever seen. Don't miss it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Way - simply inspirational

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
DrLaser
from White Plains, NY
Martin Sheen has lost his wife and is judgmental of his son who has left his doctoral program to find meaning in his life. When his son (Emilio Estevez) dies in a mountain storm, Sheen goes to retrieve the body only to find himself compelled to finish his son's journey and as walks he finds his way. Visually striking, emotionally compelling, and spiritually uplifting, Estevez has found his mark in directing. There is pathos, humor, catharsis, and inspiration.
This is the story of four travelers who find themselves through each other. Though there are religious overtones, this is not a story of religion. Its a journey of a man's discovery and how the death of his son has given him a chance to find himself. Its beautifully told and a real treat to see! Bravo Emilio!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful movie

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Cynbad1
from Tampa, FL
I too thought this movie was very peaceful. The scenery and landscapes were breathtaking. The story line was entertaining. The interaction between the characters made you think "Why are they really doing this?"
I loved the ending.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't miss this one

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
kimanlin
from Novi, Michigan
We go to the movies every Friday and this might be the best movie I have seen all year. I don't remember when I have been so relaxed and at peace during a movie. I could have watched another 2 hours. Sign me up too, I want to go!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Motivational!

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
dizneegal
from ft thomas, ky
I got up from my seat from the end of this movie and said ok, sign me up! I want to go. What an inspirational movie. I couldn't get enough of it. I felt I was traveling with this group and now I want to make this trek. We are such a materialistic society, this would bring us back to the basics and hopefully help us realize we don't need all the STUFF that we have. These people lived for 3 months with what they could carry on their back...LOVED IT!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Stirring Journey

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
BrandonMata
from Oklahoma City, Ok
This is a very solid movie. I took my 13 year old son to see it on Friday and then was moved enough to take my wife the following Sunday.
There are so many themes of introspection and life throughout the film that are brought out in subtle, yet powerful ways.
I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves movies that transcend the more prevalent 'popcorn' flicks and want movies that tell classic stories of the human condition.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was inspiring

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
bigred22
from Washington DC
This movie made us look to the past and to the future. You won't find a more inspiring movie produced today. I thought it would be sappy, but I was wrong.It made me laugh out loud and cry and take in all the beautiful footage. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
DMopks
from OP, KS
Loved everything about this movie! Characters are rich in attitude, the story isn't completely predictable, the scenery is gorgeous and the acting superb - also, the message is simple enough that you aren't left scratching your head. Great work, Emilio!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fr. Jim

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
FrJim1
from St Mark's Larkspur
I saw this movie last Friday in Santa Rosa, when it openned. GREAT MOVIE!!!! So good I preached using the film in my sermon at St Mark's Church in Larkspur. I have also posted on facebook that this was well worth the travel time to see it. I wished Hollywood would produce films of this quality and depth. Pilgrimage is an important piece of spiritual direction. We start as selfish souls and end up forever changed by Christ's love and that of our brothers and sisters. This movie makes pilgrimage popular again in a world is desperate need of love, both Divine and human.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Way

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
GGGGEEE
Great movie, hope they make more movies like this!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyone should see...

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Tombone
from St. Louis, Mo
The Way! Hollywood should make more movies like this one. Beautifully shot, superb acting and a message that says it's OK to be broken or have problems. Just allow GOD to come in and help walk you through it. Thank you Emilio!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Rate It Highly Enough

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Bagbabe53
from Vienna, VA
SEE THIS MOVIE, even if you are not religious or spiritual! I will see this movie again and again. As a result of this film, I plan to walk at least the required part of the Camino (100 km) for my 60th birthday in 2013, and will buy the DVD when it comes out.
The spiritual journey Sheen's character takes is very deep, and yet has humor, frankness about the difficulties, and a good balance between beautiful Spanish landscapes and fleabag hostels along the way. The fellow travelers reflect the goodness and tragedies most of us face in this life. The acting is superb! Definitely Oscarworthy! GO SEE IT!!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Movie

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer avatar
grace5942
from Virginia
The movie had a good plot, made you think a little bit, but also had good humor. Will probably buy when it comes out
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Way

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Frann
from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, I would recommend this movie to all my friends.
It was inspiring to see a Father complete the Pilgrimage his Son had begun.I Loved the characters, each with their own demons, and how the journey healed them spiritually.
I'm considering making the Pilgrimage myself, I would love to make the trip from France, but i will probably do the last 100 miles or so. This Movie is a Must See
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best of 2011

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
rayrdz
from La Verne, CA
I went to see "The Way" and immediately booked a flight to Spain to continue the journey. This is a fantastic moving film that not only shows the beauty of Spain but the beauty of the human spirit. Martin Sheen deserves Academy recognition for his work.
I will see this again and again it is truly the best movie I have seen in a long time.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely a Must See Movie

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
QueenieG
from Alexandria, VA
The Way is a reminder that it is still possible to make a great movie without explosions and sex. It is a funny, kind, gentle, serious, exploration of life, love, relationships, and human frailties. The story evolves around a father's grief over the loss of his son. His son died while on pilgrimage and the father takes up the gauntlet and completes the pilgrimage.
But that's a simplistic look at the story, which is part travelogue as it takes us 780km through Spain and France. The cinematography is captivating and creates wanderlust in its viewers to not only see the world, but to walk the Camino de Santiago. The father, like movie viewers, learns that his son was right to choose a life of exploration versus the mundane lives that most of us live.
If you don't see any other movies this year, this is a must see.... if for no other reason but to see how a real movie is directed, and to get a look at solid acting, scripting, and cinematography... plus a preview of a Oscar nominated film.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>