Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique Experience

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer avatar
carew
The slow pacing draws you into the life of the monastery until you're completely absorbed in the monks' world -- and their dilemma. A haunting film.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank God for monks - may their kind thrive.

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Lynd
from SF, CA
Wow, what a movie. A heartrending true account of French monks in the war-torn Balkans(?). Everything about it is authentic - from the glorious setting, deft direction and topnotch acting from every character. Wonder if being a coward there at the end was the more "practical" thing to do and whether they should have just resettled in another continent where their skills are appreciated and much needed. It wouldn't be a romantic portrayal of faith and courage but it also wouldn't be such a waste of beautiful human beings. Why this is such a limited release - does not even show on my browsers movie theater listing?
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Of Gods and Men is a Reflective Tribute ....

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer avatar
TheMovieRhino
from Arizona
.... to the priests that "held their sacred ground" in this true tale of people - terrorists - corrupt government vs. God's most basic commandment to "Love one another". The movie evolves slowly (this is not the typical Hollywood fast-food movie fare) and if you are looking for standard movie pacing this one is likely not for you. Director Beauvois succeeds in "forcing" us to enter the contemplative, self-sacrificing, prayerful lives of several priests that are tending to their flock of Muslim rural village town folk when an uprising begins, terrorists emerge and national troops appear on scene. The terrorists and the military have agendas that want the priests to pick a side and not bring comfort and healing to anyone affiliated with "the other side". The priests only have one side - God. They will work to continue to heal and comfort all who seek their help regardless of their affiliations. We know what the priests know - their days are numbered. It is mesmerizing to watch the diligent, quiet work of the priests, witness their human concerns and see them worship God in their sanctuary with singing and prayer. We know their earthly ending and can only have an inkling of their heavenly rewards. The individual and unique personalities of the priests is well-delivered via showing their concerns, their work and their individual evolution - really nice work. This movie is blessed with deft direction, gorgeous cinematography and thoughtful pacing. A huge rhino horn up!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Expression of Humanity

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer avatar
CadyLy
from Troy, MI
Their strength was very much in their community. I think that if some had stayed and some had left, that they would not have made it. It was the grace of God, yes, but also their fraternity which held them together. I loved seeing that. I loved seeing how they loved, both each other and the community they were living in. I love how you could see Christian grow throughout the movie. I love the old monk -- he was hilarious! :) Without, usually, saying a thing. Just wait until you see the part with him and the young one! Ahh! Funny!
I love how the "bad guys" weren't demonized. They were seen as fellow humans. Ones who clearly did horrible things, but people with their own emotions and needs as well.
Reality is not much like a action movie. Something happens, then there's usually a lot of time to reflect and worry. The film really lets you sit there in these moments along with the characters, to have time to get inside their experience and think about things. You also aren't bombarded by ridiculous amounts of in-your-face blood and guts, like so many modern good vs. evil movies, but see things as you often see them. In passing, for a second, out of the corner of an eye. Which I think makes each moment stand out that much more, for the brevity in which it is shown. Plus, it adds to the humanity of the victim. They aren't just props used in the movie to illustrate the evil of the villain, but people.
And they pray beautifully. :)
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow, subtle conflict

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Anotherperson
The battle is not between the monks and anyone else. (That has been decided.) But within each monk, between his individual self and his love for the others.
The film is slow because such transformations take time, especially within the viewer.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well made but SLOW

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
CyberGuy
from Bethesda, MD
Excellent acting; VERY believable. Director did a great job it making it realistic. I almost feel guilty saying it was slow, but it was VERY slow, so I cannot recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal film

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
WXSHouston
from Houston, TX
Admittedly slow and not one to appeal to the shallow elements of our culture, but a great study of theology and fabulous cinematography to boot.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

so slow moving....

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer avatar
rprp
from Los Angeles, CA
Very slow moving film, therefore would not recommend it unless you have the patience of the saints that are in this movie!!!
Acting is wonderful; the story, even though it's true, is not very interesting!!!
BORING!!!
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Study of good and evil

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Customer avatar
PedS
from Los Angeles, CA
This is a movie that captures the degree to which human kindness can break all cultural and religious barriers. A group of French Christian monks live in harmony with their Islamic neighbors. They provide medical care and share in their chores and toil on a daily basis. However, wartime looms and the fundamentalists disturb the harmony and bring utter evil into the picture. I recommend this film as a captivating human study of good and evil. It also succeeds in the difficult task of breaking down stereotypes about Islam.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.