Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
2.778 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
5 out of 9(56%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Classic Woody Allen

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
doctorlila
from New York NY
I am prejudiced by being a long term Woody Allen fan, but I think this was a good movie, not his best but worth seeing. These characters were real and "stuff happens" in life. At dinner after the movie we swear we saw a replica of Johnathon on his first date after losing a wife.
The acting was certainly superb and well casted.
The '"write your own ending" that he left us with is just that..you never know.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A must miss

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Ayadaddy
from New Jersey
Actually, someone else came up with that review, but it was completely accurate. No character development, why is an American in the UK, and no ending. Anthony Hopkins is good, he must have signed on before the script was fully developed, but I didn't believe the character development. I like Woody Allen films, wanted to like this one, but it is not good.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pathetic

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Luzma
from Orlando,FL
One of the worst movies by Allen. The film is pathetic in its scope and the ending is totally truncated. A waste of some wonderful talented actors who could have made the film a joy if it did not have Allen's writing at his worst.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful what you wish for

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer avatar
filmdoctor
If you are looking for humor, you'll find some. But this is more a story of the best laid plans going badly. What we want and what we need may be very different. The tragi-comic elements and the focus on human foibles fits the shakespearian quote. In some ways it follows the arc of its opening lines all too well. One begins to feel crushed by the inevitability of poor choices and missed messages. THis is life and Woody Allen has hit the nail on the head. but not completely. Is it enjoyable? Only somewhat..
The part written for Anthony Hopkins was such a cliche that lacked anything fresh. THe whole movie left one with a feeling of so what and who really cares. Hence the average rating.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

That Woody funny flare

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Lucia8
from Peoria IL
I have grown to love Woody Alen over the years. I happen to love his style and dry funny sense of humor which we all could use more often instead of being so serious in this life. This movie made me laugh at the roles the actors had which were not thier typical characters. That's what makes a movie like Woody Alen's so funny and creative. It's not as predictable as most movies. If I were an actress I would be honored to be in this movie. It's hilarious! Go see this movie and laugh about life instead of worrying about what's not right.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Deep farce

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Tranquilino
from Montclair, NJ
Allen's bend for transgressions continues to spell his philosophical take on life and, in this very appealing film, on life's transcendence. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Bobpal
from Pacific Palisades, CA 90272
Waste of time and money. Story seemed to be contrived.. Actors gave impression that they were reading lines rather than acting. Woody Allen can do much better than this...or maybe he no longer can.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Entertaining

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Customer avatar
JLinLA
from Los Angeles
I enjoyed the movie and the various characters. A great cast and the first time I've seen Anthony Hopkins in a role like this...a nice change. Everyone looking for love and companionship and no one really satisfied with their situation. Plenty of Woody Allen themes throughout but entertaining and it made me laugh.
I would recommend it to people.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Woody's best

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
michaelN
from Los Angeles, CA
Found it really odd that while only playing in 2 theatres in LA, the place was almost empty. That should have been the first warning.
While funny at times, certain scenes looked and sounded like they were from a high school play, they were THAT bad.
Too many stories, and I guess Allen just lost interest towards the end, as the ending was far from satisfying.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.