Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
2.842 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointment

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Teller
from Kansas
The lost of youth and the fear of aging could have been explored in a much more thought provoking way. This was a great cast, but Douglas seemed unbelievable. Too much time spent on his obcession with seduction. The other stars could have been much more relevant to the story.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fear of aging

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Customer avatar
sbfe
from phoenix
This was a movie that gives you something to think about having to do with the fear of losing your youth. Fear of aging and getting older with your body changes has this character being fearful of this and as a result he loses more as a result. Loss of family, friends, and someone who truly cares for him. His behavior is a much bigger problem than whatever medical issues may occur. I would suggest this movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Solitary Man

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Customer avatar
mexi
from AZ
Shame on Mike Douglas - he seems to play totally "arrogant" men in most of his films. Not only is he arrogant but he is shameless as well. I am so disappointed in him I probably won't go to see him again.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disturbing

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer avatar
NotARealCritic
from Columbus, Ohio
My first thought after watching the movie was one of relief that is was over. The main character is moving uncontrollably in a downward spiral and nearly destroying every relationship with everyone he comes into contact with including decent, well-meaning individuals with whom the hurt feels real and personal. If it wasn't through these people, it would be hard to relate to such a despicable, self-centered man. There are glimpses of the character wanting to be a better person, and we find ourselves hoping for his redemption. I would initially give it one star for the realism of social issues, but this movie takes that to uncomfortable extremes. Then my date made a gester which made me rethink my position. If you leave a movie and find yourself discussing the parts which affected you; over and over throughout the night, then the people involved with making the movie created something strong with meaning, regardless of whether it's totally believable or not. I suppose many of us go to movies wanting or expecting to experience conflict resolution by movie's end, when maybe we should instead focus on our own lives' resolves. The next time I'm seeing Toy Story 3.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hated it...left early

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer avatar
nonymous
Yuck! don't bother. total waste of time. acting poor to nonexistent. tired of watching and hearing actors urinate in movies. tired story just not a good movie at all....trying to find 50 words to describe it is hard....hated it and left early
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

tortured man, pitiful man

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Customer avatar
melsays
from New York
Sooner or later, facing mortality matriculates from intellectual exercise to gut-wrenching reality. How does one acknowledge it, how does one deal with it? Michael Douglas' Ben Kalmen channels his high powered, high octane personality down a spiral of self-destruction. Kalman faces his mortality by trying to prove that he is more than a man, and one not bound by convention. Before the film really begins, he has torpedoed his marriage by taking up with as many really younger women as possible, using skills honed by many years of reading people to sell them cars. He has destroyed his successful business and suffered public humiliation. This movie charts the next phase of this self-destructive behavior. It's not pretty to watch. In fact it is painful and at time embarrassing. This is not a feel good movie. Nor does it have a happy ending. It does, however, give Michael Douglas an opportunity to do some powerful acting and to step somewhat out of his box of self-assured, successful (if nasty) leading men. The supporting cast does journeymen's work. Mary Louise Parker is as cold as ice, Danny DeVito should have had more screen time, as should have Susan Sarandon. Imogen Poots has a small, viral part but I was not persuaded she was "real". Better was Jenna Fischer as Kalmen's daughter. But this is really Douglas's film. Interestingly, as he ages, he looks more and more like his father, Kirk (this is a compliment).
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Customer avatar
screamer
from new jersey
We went to this movie with high expectations and all four of us hated it. Ben has a heart problem so 6 and a half years later he has dumped his wife, Susan Sarandon,, slept with his middle-aged daughter's friend, slept with his significant other's teen age daughter and turned from honest car dealership owner to dishonest Ben. All because he has a heart problem which does not seem too bad when he gets the crap beaten out of him by a thug hired by a corporation. Douglas is brave to play a 60 year old creep but ultimately this is a dishonest film about a man you cannot believe in. Stay home .
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solitarily depressing

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer avatar
JB1122
from Palm Harbor, FL
Michael Douglas played his part very well of a 60 y/o man. The story was pitiful and sad; not someone looking to live every day like it was his last. More like someone living every day like he wishes he was dead.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed it.

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer avatar
JWMcC
from Columbus, Ohio
Solitary Man is a movie I saw knowing Douglas would be playing a stinker character. He played it well and he DID learn a lesson, although they didn't hit movie-goers over the head with it.
I liked Solitary Man.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not really enjoyable

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer avatar
BigEasyFlickerFan
from New Orleans
Kirk Douglas's character is a real heel. He is somewhat charming, and rascally, but his womanizing goes so far overboard that in a short amount of time he is turning his life into a train wreck. He offends, deeply, all those around him, those he needs and those who care about him. Actually, the acting in this movie if very fine, from all parties. But don't expect an epiphany and a feelgood ending. Too negative for me. No real fun here.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 30, 2010
Customer avatar
goldenstatue
Top notch cast, well written. Relevant to current issues of downsizing and healthcare
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lines and delivery

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer avatar
bopman
from West Bloomfield, MI
The casting and acting are outstanding in this adult movie. It is not every man's mid-life crisis, but a very entertaining and thought provoking one.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A real snoozer

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer avatar
CyclingEd
from Central New Jersey
"Solitary Man" was an amazingly boring movie about an amazingly narcissitic has been auto dealer. It's sad to see actors like Michael Douglas and Susan Sarandon participating in such a piece of cinematic junk.
The upside is if you need to catch some zzz's this movie is for you.
I'm sorry I spent the $$$ to see this. Please don't do the same.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry, don't waste time and money

PostedJune 27, 2010
Customer avatar
vicki11258
from Denver, CO
Let me start by saying i am a big fan of Michael Douglas and every other known actor in this film. I (and the other 3 people I was with) all thought it was boring as could be.The acting was good but the action (gross exaggeration) was non- existent..you could go all the way through the film and still not feel like you watched a movie.It's like watching an ordinary afternoon in the life of a self-centered man who needs real sex therapy.Don't go.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Douglas does it again!

PostedJune 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Kaye
from Mesa, Az
Michael Douglas outdoes himself and has made another memorable film. I found myself relieved to watch "reality" unfold right up to the final scene. Not the typical feel good story and solid reinforcement of Man's primal needs. Douglas has aged well but showing Sarandon's drooping boobs in a low cut blouse should have been cut.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solitary Man Has A Universal Message - Well Done!

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer avatar
TheMovieRhino
from Arizona
May be Michael Douglas's best acting role ever - as good as anything he has ever done - in The MovieRhino's opinion. This is not an easy movie to watch. It will make you squirm - or at least it should. Having said that - do not shoot the messenger! No one should leave the theater thinking "boy - if I could just be like Michael Douglas's character that would be groovy!" One of the great aspects of this film is that it is consistent and relentless. It does not let up or "cave in" at the end when it could have carved out a "happy ending". No easy finale here! The wolf is still a wolf even when it is down to it's last scrap of meat! An adult morality tale that is worthy of a viewing by all adults. A "priority re-set button" for your moral compass. See it!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Depressing & Disgusting

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer avatar
KPAZ
from Scottsdale, AZ
Very disappointed in this movie. Saw the 4 1/2 stars in the newspaper and wanted to go. Not worth the money or the time. Went with my 41 year old sister and 65 year old parents and none of us liked it!! Although Michael Douglas did a good job acting, the story line definitely crossed lines that didn't need crossing. Lots of awkward moments and moans of disgust throughout the theater at times. If hearing bad news made people lose all their morals, integrity and consideration of others like in this movie, we'd live in a sad, sad world. I guess my 1 star rating is because I don't go to movies to be depressed or disgusted.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Life lessons

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Pinky7
from Chicago
When this man finds out that life does not last forever he goes into crash mode and undermines his own life while in the pursuit of zealous pleasure. While a familiar story, it is done with the superb acting skills of Michael Douglas.
Really enjoyed this movie, a good life reminder and especially interesting for all age groups.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solitary Man

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Painless
from Sands Point
Great cast, light and enjoyable. Perfect role for Michael Douglas.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.