Customer reviews for Focus Features Coraline

Focus Features Coraline

Overall rating:
3.675 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
15
1 Star
12
85 out of 120(71%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Coraline
Review 1 for Coraline
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for children under 11!!!

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Fang
from Hermosa Beach, CA
I was very upset about the mis-information around the marketing for this movie. This was NOT a movie for young kids! Two old ladies (obviously old strippers!) in pasties! My 9 year old son actually gasped at the site of them. The theme around "the other mother" scared the h*ll outa my 6 year old. NOT FOR YOUNG CHILDREN! This movie should have been PG 13. Shame on Focus Features for marketing this dark movie to young children!
:-(
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coraline

PostedMarch 20, 2009
Customer avatar
myapproval
from Toledo, OH
This movie was great. You won't want to miss it on DVD when it comes out. I promise you that the story will sweep you away from your reality. Hats off to the creators.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coraline
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Coraline-Wait for the DVD

PostedMarch 18, 2009
Customer avatar
EddiefromKemet
from Philadelphia, PA
Coraline was a very dark, slow and weird movie. The movie was somewhat interesting but took too long to get to the plot. A childrens' movie? Hmmm....not too sure about that. I'm not sure if the average child could understand the underlying message which was: Be thankful for WHAT you have and don't focus on what YOU don't have.
Overall I give the movie 2 stars out of a 5. My advice: Wait for the DVD.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

interesting

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Customer avatar
meschet
from Houston, TX
my son loves the animation in this movie, which is similar to "The Nightmare Before Christmas" movies. there were scary parts in the movie that small kids MIGHT wiggle a little bit on...but overall it was pretty interesting and my son really enjoyed the mystery....
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coraline
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOT A TIM BURTON MOVIE

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Customer avatar
LiteralGirl
from Los Angeles
What is with the reviews on this site? People are seriously uninformed. Henry Selick, who collaborated with Burton on Nightmare Before Christmas, was the director and the technology deployed was the same. This is based on an award-winning Neil Gaiman book, and this film was spectacularly done. Not for *small* children, but I would say great for 8 and up. The art is beautiful and the lessons are good, too.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coraline

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Murphey
Very pleased with the high production values which, I believe, my 10 year old grandson picked up on. We discussed the handmaade concept and crafty-ness of the movie as well as the fairy-tale atmosphere - recalling that the original tales were pretty somber and sometimes macrabe. I regret our local theater failed to keep this show in 3-D format at the time I was able to view this movie. Love Crome's knitting and the dog chew-toy flower!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Acid Trip Movie

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Burnstein
from San Francisco, CA
I liked this movie and recommend it, but it will appeal to a very narrow audience. I agree with some of the other commentators who said children are not part of the target audience. A mother and child walked out when I saw it. I'm guessing a lot of adults would consider this movie pointless and bizarre and that would be a valid viewpoint. But if you are willing to just go watch a movie where someone's imagination went totally wild on film, you will like this movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coraline =Odd

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Manda76
from Dumfires, VA
I love Tim Burton, as do my children... and there are things that you come to expect from Tim Burton.. lots of dark humor. I am not sure what to say, except that this movie was a little over the top even for him. There were parts of the movie that I was saying, "Oh my goodness." (such as the large breasted woman, covered only with strategically placed "pasties" ) And other parts that I was confused on where Burton was headed. Conservative parents, or children new to Tim Burton's dark humor might want to reconsider.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coraline
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Coraline should be PG-13 rather than PG

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Customer avatar
DavidDowner
from Richmond, VA
Overall, I enjoyed the movie. However, I was a bit shocked at a couple scenes since I had my children with my wife and I. Not earth shattering, but I am sure some more conservative parent's than myself would not be comfortable.
The movie had a long middle, but I did not mind as I concentrated on appreciating the stop motion.
If, on my own, I would recommend the price of admission. I recommend waiting for DVD if you are a family of 4.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coraline
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Bag

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Mimi48711
from Bayville NJ
We took our grandson, who is 9 years old, to view Coraline, He selected this movie and was eager to see it. He loved it; thought of it as a mystery with a very courageous little heroine who was resourceful and brave enough to save her family and three other children from a mean spider-lady. The fact that the movie was in 3D also impacted his judgement.
I wasn't so thrilled with this movie. It exceeded the limits in a few scenes and could have been interpreted as downright vile by sensitive viewers. I would be careful about recommending this to children. Impressionable youngsters should steer clear.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coraline
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Odd and Slow

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Lorelei
from Southeast Wisconsin
You expect a Tim Burton movie to be odd and quirky. but this movie was REALLY odd. The storyline was slow to develop and at times I felt a little bored with the whole thing. The dancing, elderly, scanty clad actresses were over-the top but embarassingly funny. The animation, however, is as great as you'd expect from Tim Burton and it's worth seeing the movie to experience the visual surprises. This movie is very much on the dark side and might not be a good idea for children under 10 or so. I took my 6 year old Grandson to see it and as we watched the credits roll he said, "Granny, the movie freaked me out!"
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coraline
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

?plot

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Customer avatar
nickyname
from Alexandria, VA
The quality of the animation was good - a little better than "Toy Story". I am not sure it had a plot so the story line seemed arbitrary from scene to scene. The theme or intention of the movie seemed simply just to be creepy. I lost interest in the movie except to appreciate the animation. My 17 yo son thought it was irritating to watch and pointed out a couple of the inconsistancies.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coraline
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what we thought

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Customer avatar
kazzcase
from Los Angeles, CA
My husband and I saw this movie last night. We thought it was going to be similar to a Tim Burton film - quirky and eccentric with great animation, a little dark, but still fun. We thought wrong. It was very dark, especially for an animiated film, the story was slow and the plot was not smooth. So, if you REALL:Y want to see this movie, we recommend waiting to rent it on video or On Demand.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coraline
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dark, Depressing, & Strange

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Customer avatar
xtrememoviegoer
from Dallas, TX
I gave this 2 stars for the animation. The movie is as I said above, dark, depressing, & very strange. I don't want to see it again either. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOR CHILDREN 12 & UNDER. One of the main reasons why is because there is a particular scene where a VERY busty mermaid is doing a dance, & it is totally inappropriate for small children to see. Plus, the movie has a SCARY tone about it, w/scary characters, so be warned if your child has problems with having nightmares. I'm really wishing I hadn't spent $$ to see this.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coraline
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coraline

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Customer avatar
joyjoi
from Chicago, IL
This was my second time seeing the movie. I saw it first in 3-D and now 2-D. I loved seeing it a second time! The people I was with loved the movie. Both were fans of the book and the author. I think this movie is brilliant and everyone should see it!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coraline
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good DVD wait

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer avatar
sandipooh
from Cincinnati, OH
Odd. Let me explain why I say that. It isn't what we expected, but the animation was good, I'll say that. The dancing ladies? Come on. Odd. The "be careful what you wish for" was definately well done in this movie, but the story sort of fell short of A LOT. We took our 20-year -old son, and even he wasn't thrilled with it. My husband and I couldn't wait to go to the bathroom! Wait for the DVD. Maybe it would be better in 3D...NOT.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish I had known

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer avatar
MamaX2
from Woodland Hills, CA
I'm pretty good about researching movies before taking my kids to see them. With this movie, I did not think I needed to do any research, but after seeing the movie, wished I had. My 3 1/2 year old wasn't spooked at all and sat quiet during th entire movie. My 5 year old, on the other hand, was spooked by certain scenes. The question of the night was if the dancing ladies were naked...sorry I had to expose them to that particular visual. My husband and I thought the movie was ok but if we had to do it again, would not take the kids to see it...not until they're much older.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Creative and Fanciful Concepts

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Customer avatar
bphaines
from Houston, TX
I truly enjoyed the concept and ideas behind Coraline. The mind of Neil Gaiman works in mysterious ways, and this is a richly creative story. The opposites presented in the real world and the other world, and the idea of "be careful what you wish for" is classic and well done. My only issue is that the movie pacing seemed somewhat off to me. I'm not sure why, but there times when I was wanting something more to happen.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coraline
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great movie

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Tawney
from Bucks County, PA
i thought coraline was an excellent movie! The animation was great and the overall story line was fantastic.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Coraline
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was what I expected.

PostedMarch 1, 2009
Customer avatar
tspuckhead
I liked this movie, so did my 9 year old daughter. This is NOT a Tim Burton movie, by the way, it's Henry Selick, who worked on "The Nightmare Before Christmas" with Tim Burton. The visuals were very nice, and it has a good moral. If you're expecting the usual CGI fare, then you may not like it. It's not cutesy like a Pixar or Dreamworks flick, but interesting none the less.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>