Customer reviews for Truly Indie Valentino: The Last Emperor

Truly Indie Valentino: The Last Emperor

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Review 1 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bravo!

PostedMay 17, 2009
Customer avatar
BocaEli
from Boca Raton
Matt Tyrnauer give us a look into the Ultra Lux world of Valentino and his partner Giancarlo. This film will give you a 90 min chance to be part of his entourage and go into his very guarded world.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 30, 2009
Customer avatar
filmlamb
from Northern New Jersey
This is a really wonderful documentary, very well made and entertaining. I took my 13-year-old, who is interested in fashion & costume design, and we both enjoyed it immensely. The filming & editing are first rate, Valentino & Giancarlo are terrific subjects and good sports. Anyone interested in the creative process would enjoy this.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful and moving

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer avatar
wave1969
This is a fantastic documentary regarding the life and achievement of Valentino through the many years of his successful career. Thanks to his genius in the fashion field along class and timeless style, women will enjoy beauty forever. No other designers are as talented as he is. As Karl Lagerfeld said: Beside you, all the others make rags! Bravo Valentino!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Valentino

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Beckdog
from LA
A look inside the life of an artist . Ultimately a story about love and friendship.. Everything was beautiful; the clothes the homes the cities and the people! Certainly the end of an era.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

okay

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Stiggy
I enjoyed learning more about Valentino but didn't think the craft of the documentary wasn't anything to rave about. The content was spotty at times. Clearly the man is incredible and I enjoyed watching him refine one dress.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Touching Story

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Samith
from Los Angeles, CA
The movie was such a touching story of a man with a passion for his craft and his love for his companion. I laughed, cryed and was touched by the charm and elegance of the story. The view into the work that goes into the couture world was wonderful. I've worked in the garment industry and think that the movie is very informative. It was also so nice to see the credits included the seamstresses and his pugs. I've always admired his creations and now I can say I admire the man himself.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprisingly heart-warming and funny

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer avatar
ctinla
from Los Angeles
My 14 year old daughter and I loved the movie. The clothes are exquisite and it was edited quite well. We really got a sense of the man, his history and his relationship with his lifelong partner, Giancarlo. The dialogue is incredibly funny in places and the focus on the process, from sketch to hand-sewing through review and alteration was fascinating. A visually stunning and touching movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 6, 2009
Customer avatar
MissyLou
from New York, NY
This movie was great. I loved the relationship between Valentino and his partner. Make sure you get there early. The theater was small and filled up quickly.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I didn't want it to end

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer avatar
lpaige
from New York
It was a great movie. It's corny but fitting to say "i laughed. i cried." Valentino is a true artist. I wish i could have been in Rome for his final celebration. The movie was well done. I say that I didn't want it to end but it was just the right length. It wasn't too long but it gave the audience a thorough look into the life of Valentino and how his vision becomes reality.
Most movies are disappointing. I don't want to waste my time in the theatre. Not this one. It was worth every minute.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a passion for fashion...

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer avatar
style
from sf, ca
this beautiful insight into the life of valentino and his longtime, lover, biz associate, best friend was amazing. the clothing and settings along with the behind the scenes settings kept me thrilled until the last credit rolled. my only regret is that it ended!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliance In Exquisite Detail

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer avatar
SusanaCubana
I think it takes seeing these clothes on a large screen to fully realize the brilliance of Valentino. The movie does as fantastic a job on the man as it does on the clothes. Valentino's legacy places him among the greatest artists of the 20th and 21st Century -- in all mediums. It was such a treat to see the clothes in such exquisite detail
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Customer avatar
MsLopes
from Brooklyn, NY
I have always been a fan of Valentino. However, this film was a true depiction of the highs and lows that live within the fashion industry. Though Valentino is genius, the documentary depicts the constant struggles of keeping a "house" alive and enriched with passion. Valentino truly is the last emperor. Bravo!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Valentino: The Last Emporor

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Kendal
from New York
I've seen this movie twice, it is excellent on so many levels - fashion, business, personal relationships - a really well made and edited documentary. A true look and understanding of the world of couture.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

THE QUEEN

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Minx99
from New York
This movie was great from beginning to end, it was funny, it was sad, and a documentary, I thought the director did a great job, I only wish Valentino was documented since day one because he really is a visionary, one of the true greats, and simply stated, "The Last Emperor".
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Valentino: The Last Emperor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

PostedMarch 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Brooklit
from New York, NY
This movie was fantastic! A absolute must see for any fashion lover.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.