Customer reviews for Miramax Films Adventureland

Miramax Films Adventureland

Overall rating:
3.246 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
11
1 Star
9
42 out of 69(61%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Adventureland
Review 1 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sweet film

PostedMay 17, 2009
Customer avatar
enviro
I thought this was a sweet, pretty funny but touching film. Kristen Stewart was fantastic. We went to see her because we (a middle aged couple!) are big Twilight fans. She was more like Bella here than we would have expected but she played such a flawed but principled character really well. We remain big fans of her. We liked the lead guy, but I can't remember his face today, the morning after. Not a big presence. Some of the supporting roles were really great -- LOVE Wendy Malick! I laughed out loud when she was pulling the main character out of his car after an all nighter. Worth seeing, glad we saw it in the theater.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

aint bad

PostedMay 15, 2009
Customer avatar
shriverdiver
it does drag on and is a little too long!!!! would have been better and cheaper to watch it on dvd
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A flashback to the 80s

PostedMay 14, 2009
Customer avatar
mail4krista
from Los Angeles, CA
It was actually better that I had anticipated. Funny, light and enjoyable. It would have been just as good watching it on DVD rental though and a LOT cheaper. Overall, worth seeing.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 3, 2009
Customer avatar
ceis
i love it! it is more than just a comedy. it's something deeper than that.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

adventureland

PostedMay 1, 2009
Customer avatar
wildwilly
from Phoenix, AZ
I don't think they should call this movie a comedy. It seems like false advertising to me. The movie was mostly a long drawn out movie about a struggling relationship between the two main characters. The male lead character developement was completely unbeliveable. He is portrayed as a shy nerd that seems like he just graduated from high school, and not college. Yet this shy nerd has the hottest girl at the carny ask him out, and he even gets to second base with her. COME ON! He even screws over the girl that he LOVES. What an jerk! Don't waste your money if you were looking for a comedy like I was.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LAME

PostedApril 23, 2009
Customer avatar
PGAPRO2006
from DALLAS
I was really wanting to like this movie, but it just dragged on and on, had few funny scenes or lines. I don't really expect much of a plot in movies like this, but this was the lamest one I have seen in a while. Don't waste the money. I thought this might be sleeper, but really just dissapoints.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good Movie

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
JulesP
from Los Angeles, CA
Liked the movie a lot. Not nearly as funny as "Superbad" but the movie was definitely more real life than comedy. You really get to know the characters. Liked the story a lot.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Adventureland Needs More Comedy

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Babeegurl2luvU26
from San Diego,Ca
I watched Adventureland last friday after seeing the movie i personally thought that it was alright though there was not enough comedy in the movie to make me laugh and in my opinion i think it needs more comedy.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

zzzzzzzzzz

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Ericabarrington
from Schaumburg Il.
Maybe for teens. This was a sleeper. Don't waste your time or money.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A nice small movie

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
BigEasyFlickerFan
from New Orleans
This is a nice modest movie, somewhat slow, about kids, most of whom are one or another form of social outliers, who are working one summer in a tacky low-budget amusement park (the Adventureland of the title). The male lead is bookish, innocent to the point of being naive, and way-overeducated for this summer stint. But he is likable, and mixes easily with the other park employees. This is a small movie with modest charms, but a nice movie about basically nice young people. It could be brisker! But don't have excess expectations, and you can enjoy it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

big waste

PostedApril 18, 2009
Customer avatar
nsvlc
from kansas city
horrible, horrible and so very stupid. very low budget movie- dont waste your $$
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

younger peeps will enjoy it more

PostedApril 18, 2009
Customer avatar
ZeldaLove
from cincinnati
If the previews hadn't made it seem so funny it wouldn't have been as disappointing, although it wasn't terrible. The story is predictable, but the 80s setting gives it a cool twist and the acting isn't horrible...the dialogue is weak but the characters are likable. I laughed a lot. My boyfriend and I both though Bill Hader should have had a bigger part, he is hysterical.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of talent.

PostedApril 15, 2009
Customer avatar
andysunkey
from Sarasota
Wow, what a major disappointment, the trailor had both funny moments, boring, slow, same old story boy loves girl, they mess up and guess what happnes in the end ?. Do not waste your time.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Much Appeal

PostedApril 14, 2009
Customer avatar
PawPrints
from Arizona
Marginal acting, weak dialogue, and little depth. That pretty much sums up this movie. Probably more appealing to those under 30. Definitely not much of a comedy.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Slow

PostedApril 14, 2009
Customer avatar
TheNewMFan
from Passaic, NJ
Too slow & boring, with the same old storyline, sprinkled with plenty of F words... and as a bonus: Typical Hollywood portrayal of disfunctional families.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Adventureland review

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer avatar
snowwhite19
I liked this movie alot I thought it had good funny parts and its serious parts and all together I liked it!! Im even going to see it for the second time!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wait for the DVD

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer avatar
JbNN
Adventureland waits too long to get interesting. I didn't really care about any of the main characters until the romance comes to a head about 2/3 of the way through.
I couldn't get over the poor Michael Cera imitation that Jesse Eisenberg is forced to do throughout the movie.
Also if you didn't believe the dialogue coming out of Juno's mouth then skip Adventureland.
Still it's better than staying home.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too good

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer avatar
BigJay
Not too good. Has a few funny moments but isn't really good. It's more 'artsy' than comedy...kinda like the way Juno was. Really, the only thing that kept in the theatre was Kristen Stewart.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For the love of God... WHY!?

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Roxiestar
from Panama City, Florida
Seriously folks. If you're looking for a great comedy to see... THIS IS NOT IT!!! It's basically 2 hours of your life wasted.
Honestly, I am a fan of many of the actors featured in this film & I was sadly DISAPPOINTED. It had all the makings for a comedy masterpiece but failed in every direction. We went STONED & still could find NO ENJOYMENT in this movie.
If you opt to take your chances & see this film, GOOD LUCK!... It's your hard earned money down the drain. I took one for the team & saw this so my friends wouldn't have to suffer.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventureland
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok, but not really worth it.

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer avatar
PrincessVespa
from Sunnyvale, CA
The previews looked like this would be a 'summer fun' comedy. While there were a few good laughs, they were few and far between. Most of the subject matter was quite serious and some of it even depressing. I'm not saying serious movies are bad, just not what I thought I was getting into. I was expecting a funny 80's movie, more in the 'Wedding Singer' style. Well acted, but not what I enjoy. Would not recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>