Customer reviews for Sony Pictures Classics Rachel Getting Married

Sony Pictures Classics Rachel Getting Married

Overall rating:
2.807 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
13
1 Star
28
38 out of 83(46%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Rachel Getting Married
Review 1 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Definitely Not Mainstream

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Customer avatar
PawPrints
from Arizona
Most importantly, this is NOT a comedy by any stretch of the imagination. It's more of a docu-drama in an odd sense of the word. Hathaway provides an excellent portrayal of a recovering addict who is struggling through the fallout of her addiction and a past tragedy. The tension between family members is also well done. The premise of the story had potential, but it was lost in a sea of bizarre episodes, including an overly drawn out rehearsal dinner complete with equally bizarre minor characters. Had the story focused more on the relationships and less on extraneous and drawn-out minor scenes, the film would have been more effective for me.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Customer avatar
qtip
from san antonio
not what I expected, thought it was going to be more of a comedy then what it was, I guess this is a gal flick just not what I expected
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Genuine

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
tjinthat510
I think the first word that comes to mind is "genuine". Coming from a family that has dealt with similar (albeit much less intense) than the family depicted in this film, I have first-hand knowledge of what goes on in a household dealing with complex issue like depression and addiction. They did an amazing job painting a very accurate picture.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rent it if you must

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
NYCricket
from New York, NY
Excellent performances despite a scattered and bizarre storyline. Lots of detail with far fewer payoffs. The camera work was no doubt deemed artistic but it gave me a headache. And, while the music was great, I wanted to break the bow of the violin by the end. I found myself gritting my teeth throughout. Yay Anne and Rosemarie, couldn't get enough of Mather but otherwise you can miss this one.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rachel getting married

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
Customer avatar
lcbarnao
from ny, ny
Artistic film with deep issues addressed, but left me feeling baffled. I thought some scenes were way too long. The whole wedding and movie in general was just bizarre. I felt very uncomfortable throughout the movie. When it ended, I just felt a huge sense of "huh?" Really odd and bizarre movie...
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rachel getting Married

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer avatar
whineycracker2000
from Phoenix
This is not a film for all tastes. It almost works like a play, in that it takes place almost entirely in one setting and contains real-time action and dialouge. Like Anne Hawathay's performance, the set up and dialouge at first blush seems forced and overly-staged, but the film eventually sneaks up on the viewer in unexpected ways. A character piece very light on plot, this is a film in which all of the supporting characters are equally, if not more, well-drawn than the central character. Some of the camerawork seemed a tad derivative, but the cumulative effect of the movie's small parts is one of great power and depth.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Compares to Ishrar

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer avatar
sdfverwgv
from Olathe
Wow, the movie critic who rated this 4 stars is so out of touch and should seek medical help.
This is a sad docu-drama that makes me want to ask for my money back. Not even worth renting; a complete waste of time.
I don't remember who the movie critic is that gets paid to review this movie, but he needs a new job- maybe collecting tickets.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rachael Getting Married

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer avatar
EX007
from NYC
Unsettling and Disturbing. Much of it seems improvised, particularly the pre-wedding dinner scene.
Is is MEANT to be all of that. The movie is designed to leave viewers uneasy with the characters, almost all of them. It succeeds.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

One of the worst we've seen

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Customer avatar
sid11
from West Los Angeles
What a waste of time and money. A very bad story line. Terrible camera work. We hated most of the characters. We couldn't wait of the movie to be over. If we would not have been seated in the middle we would have walked out after an hour of suffering.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

depressing and annoying

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Customer avatar
MartinG
from Dallas, Texas
director had the camera jumping for obvious reason...but story and lead character were unsettling////
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THE WORST

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer avatar
LARefugee
Anne Hathaway fails miserably in her first "challenging" role. A perfect demonstration of Hollywood nepotism (Jenny Lumet is the daughter of Sidney) a "name" means you don't have to know good story. As Demme says, this picture "barely has a story". 2 hours of emotional masterbation is supposed to equate a courageous journey of recovery. Jonathan, stick to documentaries for the causes you champion. Anne, stick to ingenue roles. Jenny - get out of town.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First rate

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer avatar
beldoctr
from NY NY
Brilliantly accurate portrayal of this particular subset of humanity. It feels like it is happening and you are there. Expected a good "flick" and got much, much more than that.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Depressing and nauseating

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Suzie67
from Phoenix, AZ
I will start with the nauseating: The camera work in the movie is a la Blair Witch Project with possibly slightly more ridiculous attempts at art. The close-ups are many, and the camera stability is non-existent through out the entire movie. I actually felt car sick about a half hour into it. As far as the content: Just plain uncomfortable for most of the movie. The people are not likable. Mostly self-centered drama queens and enablers bantering back and forth about whose life is been made worse by the other all while indulging the central prima donna's ridiculous tantrums - and hating her for them at the same time. Frustrating, depressing and just not entertainment in my book - unless you like pain
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sad, but true

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer avatar
LovesArtFilms
from Overland Park, KS
I initially thought this would be a smartly made movie about the strange antics of a young woman coming home from rehab for the first time. I was expecting a dark comedy. It turned out to be a snapshot of a family - their interactions, secrets, and inability to speak truths to one another to resolve long-standing wounds. It demonstrated both triumphs and failures within families, that love brings one another together, but does not conquer all issues. The acting was superb; a breakthrough role for Anne Hathaway. She was not the expected quirky girl l, but a character carrying the full baggage of her past, alternately in your face and repentant. However, if you had a normal, communicative family, you won't get this one.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOT A COMEDY; IT'S REALITY.

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Butterstar1
from GREENSBORO, NC
One of 2008’s best movies. It ends with a few unanswered questions and unresolved plot lines. Immediately after watching the film, I found myself bothered by its ending. Later on, I didn’t have and issue with it after realizing I was merely looking at a snapshot of the lives of a family. The film left me with questions and made me think; putting this movie on a higher level from what’s out there now. Each and every performance from the actors is top-notch, particularly from the supporting cast. Director Jonathan Demme definitely deserves and Oscar for his ability in this film to intertwine scenes of joyfulness and acceptance with scenes filled with underlying tension and uncomfortableness. See this movie. It’s a film you won’t soon forget.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rachel Getting Married

PostedDecember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
LifeisFilm
from Brooklyn
To hell with buddy-buddy movies, this is one of the most realistic and insightful films ever made about mothers and daughters (and sister and sister), even more so because the mother doesn't actually appear until half way into the film, which illustrates just how remote and distant the mother really is. Think Ordinary People meets Monsoon Wedding and this is the movie for you.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HUH??? Comedy????

PostedDecember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
Ericabarrington
from Schaumburg Il.
Comedy??? What did I miss? Didn't fall asleep, but was close. I started feeling fluish and realized the filming was AWFUL.!!! Home videos are better. The camera work will make you motion sick. (not kidding) This family was quite dysfunctional but the whole thing was just plain odd. My husband hated it. I just don't think it's worth the $
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reality

PostedDecember 8, 2008
Customer avatar
SAT0306
from Grapevine, TX
A good representation of a dysfunctional family. So many people don’t understand the pain and suffering that goes along with having an addict in the family. Hathaway was very good in this role.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth The 4 Stars!

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer avatar
lauriekreviews4you
from New Jersey
Every week I have a group of people who call me for my movie reviews because I see alot of movies. I would NOT recommend this movie. It reminded me of The Big Chill the way it dragged on and on. Anne Hathaway was good, not great, and certainly not oscar worthy in my opinion (Angelina Jolie in Changeling and even Nicole Kidman in Australia were much better). I never understand the way the critics give out their reviews, but this was not a 4 star movie in my opinion. Plus, to make matters worse, since this was a limited release movie I had to go far away to see it. If you want to see a very funny only 2 star rated movie go see 4 Christmases where we laughed out loud for most of the movie.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rachel Getting Married
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer avatar
Glola
from Bethesda, MD
The movie was good and Anne Hathaway was excellent as always but it wasn't at all what I expected. Rather dysfunctional family who needs to learn the lesson of forgiveness which I don't think they ever really do. A comedy it is not. While I liked it enough, I wouldn't recommend it. Too much was left unanswered.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>