Customer reviews for Focus Features Away We Go

Focus Features Away We Go

Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
28 out of 34(82%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Away We Go
Review 1 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Away We Go with a Juno feel

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Customer avatar
DrLaser
from White Plains, NY
Sam Mendes has crafted a small smart film about an expectant couple searching to find a place to call home. Its really a series of skits about the quirky funny dysfunctional people they encounter at each and every stage of their journey. Both Maggie Gyllenhall and Allison Janney are over the top in their performances as odd ball friends who convince our searching couple that they need to move on once more. Maya and John work very well together. Subtlety is king here in this adult story of finding that home is where the heart is.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You'll Go Away Amused

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Moviemark2
from Fort Lauderdale
‘Away We Go’ is a good movie to see if you enjoy watching odd people with odd friends doing odd things in odd situations. The writing is the star of this movie. Almost anyone could have deadpanned their way through the lines as John Krasinski and Maya Rudolph did and still been as funny. Their looks fit their characters though, so that was another plus. The best thing about the movie for me was what seemed to be a sub-plot about Maya’s character Verona in the middle of the movie, but turned out to be a main point at the end. A delightful movie to see, as long as you are not looking for total normalcy or reality.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good to go

PostedJuly 20, 2009
Customer avatar
therealshell
from Phoenix, AZ
Saw this yesterday, with a very tiny audience who all seemed to appreciate the gentle charms of the movie as much as my wife and I did. Basically a road story about a bohemian-type couple who are looking for a place to raise their yet-to-be-born baby. There are people in the film that I can relate to, and a few characters are very similar to people that I know, which is always cool. I mean, I know nobody like Batman (wish that I did), but I know more than a few Burt & Veronas.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Film

PostedJuly 13, 2009
Customer avatar
CMart
Finally... A movie with an original plot, zero gratuitous scenes, and genuine comedy.
Realistic depiction of early marriage life and the joys/frustrations that come with it inside an original plot line. Every minute was an absolute delight and the soundtrack fits very well. John Krasinski is spot on as usual.
Perfect romantic date movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Customer avatar
AZmovieFan
from Arizona
This is a very nice film. No explosions, no teen humor, just a story about a couple trying to find their way in life.
Rich in story, dialogue and characters, we really enjoyed the film.
Not for kids - lots of f-words in the film, but not gratuitously.
Both lead characters are know for their comedy roles, but they carried the film very well. A few laughs, maybe even a tear or two, and all around a nice 2 hour escape.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lukewarm...wait for DVD

PostedJuly 5, 2009
Customer avatar
wmh66
from LA,CA
Another Quirky film with real left of center characters..eh.
The surrounding family & friends in this were wacked believable characters!! Cringe inducing at times and .."Away We Go" lost me 1/2 through even knowing it was going to be dialog heavy to start with...but it just dragged towards the middle....some good comedy parts however.
Without giving anything away this film comes full circle with the characters from start to finish which was nice and not too cliche.
Not a 100% chick flick but pretty darn close. Its about family, love & life decisions based in reality.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love rings true

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Watching4
from Houston
Some of the supporting characters added to my definition of obnoxious--people who are not only weird or rude, but who force their agenda on others.
The relationship between Bert and Verona expresses so much love, tenderness, concern and hope. It reminded me of that time in my own life and relationship--some of it time wasted trying to please or connect with people who really wouldn't matter to me in the long run. What matters is what Bert and Verona found in each other, in the look that passes between them under the orange tree.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good thing I did not pay to see this

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Nixx
from NW, Florida
I "paid" a discounted price (a movie pass card) sometime ago, and finally used it when I saw this movie. I was extremely disappointed in it. One-third of the way into the movie I was ready to leave, but I held on in hopes it would become more interesting...... I should've left! There were a few parts of the movie that had some hilarity to them, but they were also the parts shown in the previews so it lost some comedic value as I almost knew what to expect. See it if you please, but I will not reccomend this to anyone.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOST AMAZING

PostedJuly 3, 2009
Customer avatar
nobodydanceshere
from chicago. il
This film is not a hardcore comedy but a very very endearing and cute romantic comedy of sorts. I fell in love with these characters quickly and the script was extremely original. My friend and i were shocked at how great this film was... it just makes us single people happy!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dry and Boring

PostedJune 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Mrsmac
from Bensalem, PA
This movie was o.k. It started out o.k, but then I found myself falling asleep. I liked the couples relationship. To me the story line was weak, it was cute, but I wouldn't see it again. I didn't think the use of foul language was necessary, they seemed to be cursing just to curse. I don't know any people who talk to each other like this couple as far as their intimate life and parts of the female anatomy go. I didn't like the way Allison Janney's character related to her kids, I thought it was insensitive the way she talked behind their backs, I thought she was obnoxious. I would not go see this movie again, due to its boring topic and weak plot. the ending was nice.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable

PostedJune 30, 2009
Customer avatar
bryty
from Edwardsville, KS
Away We Go is the best movie of the summer so far. It was poignant and funny. The characters in the movie are endearing. I think many people will relate to the characters portrayed throughout the movie. They will recognize people in their own lives in the main characters as well as the characters they come in contact with. It definitely demonstrates today's difficulties in wanting what's best for your children when you don't have extended family to help. I could watch this movie over and over!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Nisey01
from Arlington, TX
I loved the movie.. It was funny, and just a overall good movie. It was good to see Maya Rudolph!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great movie!

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
nickkc
This movie is charming, funny and insightful. The acting is great and the characters are intelligent and hilarious. My husband even liked it. I really recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Purduette
from Brooklyn, NY
A wonderful movie. Very quiet (i.e. not a lot of action) but it doesn't need it. At turns hillarious then sad then heart-warming. Beautifully written and acted. Bravo!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Movie

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
jpsawit
Great acting and excellent writing. Well done! I think this movie should win awards.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A few nice moments

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
ROXSKIN
from Culver City, CA
The chemistry between the two main characters is completely believable, but, overall, my husband and I found this movie mediocre and full of stereotypical, predictable characters. There were a few nice, genuinely funny moments, but our time could have been better spent elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Unexpected Delight

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
PawPrints
from Arizona
I almost missed this little gem, but I'm so glad I caught it last night. Parts are laugh-out-loud funny; others are tender and heartfelt. John and Maya are well cast as are their quirky friends and relatives. Nice date movie. Most of our audience was 30+. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and walked away smiling, including me.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vehicle to Stardom

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
ReviewerMan
from Lee's Summit, MO
Everyone in this movie acted like they knew this would be their ticket to stardom. John Krasinski has matured as an actor and was a standout. Maggie Gyllenhaal is grace personified- how radiant! Allison Janney is truely funny- who knew?
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Summer Movie

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer avatar
CharliesMom
from Baltimore, MD
Wonderful writing, spectacular characters! Each new chapter was like a wonderful present to open at Christmas. I didn't want it to end!! I laughed and cried.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Away We Go
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super great

PostedJune 27, 2009
Customer avatar
savethepunks
from Los Angeles, CA
It almost seems like this movie should be a companion piece to Juno. Same themes, except now those quirky teens have matured into quirky young adults and can't just give it away this time. They have to try and figure out how to make a go of it. And it was amazing to watch them try. I'd watch it again and again and again
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>