Customer reviews for Disneynature Chimpanzee

Disneynature Chimpanzee

Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Chimpanzee
Review 1 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extraordinary!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
iwatchem
from San Antonio, TX
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spectacular Camera Work!! Two rival groups of wild chimpanzees are observed and filmed in their natural habitat. This movie captures the bittersweet existince of wild animals. It captivates you from beginning to end and is entertaining with clever narrative. It delivers a subtle yet powerful lesson about animals that are "Cute". To the film crew: Your sacrafice and hardship are greatly appreciated.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing closeups!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
JaciMovies
from South Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an endearing story! I never imagined there was this much drama going on in the jungle, but this movie depicts all the ups and downs any family goes through. The camera work is amazing and the "making of" segment at the end shows all the hardships they had to go through to get those amazing shots. This film is something the entire family can enjoy.
Pros well paced, great story, amazing camera shots
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Aw, the animals.......

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Sandi
from Houston, TX
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shows the violence and tenderness of the beasts. No wonder they think we descended from monkeys!
Nothing too different than you might see on National Geographic. Kudos to what the cameramen had to go through.
Save your money for when it comes out on DVD.
Starring the VOICE of Tim Allen.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY COOL MOVIE

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
MOVIEJ
from BROOKLYN
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOOK TWO NINE YEAR OLD TO SEE THIS MOVIE AND WE ALL ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.IT WAS VERY INTERESTING LISTENING TO BOTH KIDS DISCUSS OSCAR AFTERWARDS.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanzee

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
wolfbat
from Keller, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:few times per year
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful movie and great story :) cute baby chimp and mean looking bad guys love the movie :)
Pros well paced, great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanze

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Benjibob
from New York NY
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The visuals were spectacular and the story line was heart rending. Something to be enjoyed by the whole family. Bravo. Very well done.
Pros well paced, great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanzee

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
nicwanu
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it. It was a beautiful story with beautiful photography. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Movie

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
diduknow
from Severance, CO, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:few times per year
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This movie was a great reminder of how they have to survive. I have a new respect for those that have the courage to be in the middle of the jungle filming and dealing with danger!
Pros great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real family story

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
eagle1975oh
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We took our 4 and 6 year old granddaughters and they loved the movie. While the movie discusses the issues with group interactions between "tribes" of chimps the one fact we loved is they did not feel they needed to show any cruel or gorey details. The movie could still tell the story without a blood, etc. Well done, and very cute in the parts about caring for the young, teaching, and the use of tools to get to food. Loved the movie, another Disney Nature hit.
Pros well paced, great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great family movie

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
gsyk
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this! My boys are 7 and 9 and were thoroughly engaged all the way through, as were we. I was a little nervous going in because I knew there was hunting (by the chimps) and some fighting with a rival clan and I was concerned it might be brutal and alarming for the kids. I was very impressed with the choices made by the filmmakers to show the battles and communicate that there is life and death involved but without subjecting the children to anything jarring. Other families with younger children (3 and 4 year olds) took their kids out during some of the more intense scenes and there was plenty of warning these were coming because both the narration and the music provide strong cues. Tim Allen's narration was a soothing accompaniment, funny and reassuring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To the point - simple, yet all-encompassing ... just like the movie itself.

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
LoveToAll
from Magnolia, TX
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was no accident that the camera crew was there to miraculously catch this story on film. Hopefully many will see this and understand that nature and God's creatures interact with man and have a beautiful story to tell - we just need to take the time to listen and not take any of it for granted. Beautiful movie - and how respectful to choose not to show the actual killing of Isis - Oscar's mom. In doing so, it is a movie that can and should be seen by children of all ages. Thank you filmmakers for the pain and sacrifices you endured to bring Oscar and his family into my and my family's life.
And, I thought Tim Allen was perfect for the part of narator. He has the perfect blend of humor and sensitivity to bring personality to all the chimps and their reactions to every situation presented. Good work guys!
Pros well paced, great story, great actors, tim allen
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful film but Tim Allen...really???

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Fantheflames1
from Santa Monica, Ca
Great story line and great footage! Watching the socialization, education, and establishment of cultural norms was amazing! However, Was nobody available with talents equally befitting the developing film crew and directors other than Tim Allen???? As John Goodman said to Steve Buscemi in The Big Lebowski " you're out of your element Tim Allen..."
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adoption is awesome!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
svarand
from Ohio
We took our two boys (ages 4 and 7) to see this movie. I was a little worried about some of the scenes, however, Disney handled them with great care. It is a beautiful movie. I had to keep telling myself that what I was seeing is a really exists - unbelievable scenery. The story line touch our hearts. Both of my sons are adopted, just like Oscar! Adoption is awesome!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanzee

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
momof7and10
from Lodi, Ca
My 7 year old said it "didn't catch her attention", but my 10 year and I LOVED it! Just amazing and heart warming...
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fanatastic

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
ejalmaguer
from Antioch, Ca
If you like Discovery about animals, Animal Planet you will love this documentary. Very touching.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great movie for every family member

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Houda
from Rockville, MD
Like "Frozen Planet", the film footage is incredible. I fell in love with Oscar and would have adopted him if I could. We can learn much by watching how these chimpanzees interrelate and look after one another. I have great respect and admiration for film makers who bring this kind of movie to us and enlighten the audience. At the end, we see how tough it was and the risks taken to make this kind of movie in remote parts of Africa. For moms and dads looking for a good kids' movie, this is a good one.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Entertaining Even for Adults...

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
AJMart
from Los Angeles
I didn't expect much going into this movie. I thought it would be more of a kid movie based upon some of the reviews. But it was very entertaining and enjoyable. Well done and it did not drag on. The story was edited just right.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanzee a must

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
VickiBisbee
from Phoenix, AZ
Every Sunday night, 5 of us kids would hang out in my grandparents living room to watch "The Wonderful World of Disney" for the Nature films. Always done with class and style, we learned something every weekend.
Now Disney has come back to that style with this movie and it is wonderful. Oscar is a wonderful little guy to follow around for the first part of his life. His brown eyes, so big and full of wonder, is enough to pull at the heart strings on anyone.
I would strongly recommend this movie to everyone!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chimpanzee

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
ChaseDaddy
from White Plains, NY
Incredible video footage of the African jungle, chimpanzees, plant, insect and fungiform life. A great story to go with unprecedentedly detailed public video of chimpanzees of the quality usually restricted to scientific studies.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chimpanzee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

chipanzee

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
kmmsanchez
from milwaukee,wi
excellent movie. love nature films. tim allen does a wonderful narration
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.