Customer reviews for Sony Pictures/Columbia 2012

Sony Pictures/Columbia 2012

Overall rating:
3.832 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(961 reviews) 957
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 961 reviews
5 Stars
373
4 Stars
297
3 Stars
129
2 Stars
81
1 Star
81
764 out of 961(80%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for 2012
Review 1 for 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Please Stop Roland Emmerich

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Customer avatar
kingkong23
from Cincinnati, OH
Roland Emmerich seems to only make two kinds of movies: a) disaster movies; b) criminally bad movies; or - as with most of his "films" - c) both. 2012 falls under category c). I can't really say anything about it other than Woody Harrelson stopped himself short of a near-flawless year with The Messenger and Zombieland under his belt by his ludicrous performance here. The only reason I gave it two stars is because it's freaking hilarious. It might even be funnier than The Hangover or Zombieland. A little tip for you Mr. Emmerich, don't try to put themes of the importance of human life and scenes of old people driving their car straight into the pits of hell in the same movie.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Is this crap over yet?

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer avatar
ashsPHL
from PHL, PA
Biggestwaste of time. You're introduced to random character who are of no value in the movie and you never see again. What's the point? I waited a good length of time for John C to make his appearance, annoyed that it wasn't earlier. The acting was poor, none of the characters seemed to have a real relationship with eachother. When the destruction finally started happening, it was very cool in the beginning. But once the action started, it never stopped. An hour long action scene gets a little boring after a while. I got tired of watching explosion after explosion as after a while they all blurred together. I was fighting off the urge to just fall asleep, and after watching the movie in its entirety, I wish I would have just given in.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thrilling

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Ericabarrington
from Schaumburg Il.
Better than I expected. Wasn't on the top of my list to see but was not sorry. Thrilling, exciting edge of your seat film. If you haven't seen it yet.....you should.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2012

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Liliro
Very good special effects, good acting, kept me stuck to my seat.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good movie

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
opennfree79
from jacksonville, fl
although parts were predictable, the movie was very well done with special effects, that kept you waiting for the next event to happen. The movie to me never lost pace and didnt bore you with small details (IE: Titanic)
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2012 - makes you think

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Raven99202
from Spokane, WA
This movie is good from the very beginning. They explain what's happening to the earth with science then show you what could happen. This movie makes you think about what may actually be out there in the world. And John Cusack....He was hot in this film. He was strong, and smart, and loving. He played his character well and I've never seen him look so good in a film before.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good story line...

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Customer avatar
SxySpanishStudNYC
from New York, NY
It makes you think, that's for sure. I thought John Cusack was great as well as Amanda Peet. Woody Harrelson play wild and kooky VERY well!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Cinematography

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Denyne
from Peoria, AZ
The special effects in the movie were great but the story line was a bit weak...I think that if you cut out all of the cheesy parts this had the makings of a great film. However, will still wind up being a cult classic like Armageddon, The Core, and Deep Impact but questionable whether it meets or exceeds The Day After Tomorrow. Bottom line, see it in theaters for the special effects and only buy on DVD as a 3.99 sale.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2012

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Customer avatar
BAF918
from Woodbridge, VA
A friend convinced me to see this. I am glad she did -- it was a terrific movie with wonderful cinematology! It was nothing like I expected. Kept us on the edge of our seats. It was a bit long, but the movie did give me reason to stop and think about what it would be like in real life. Would give this 5 stars!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Review of 2012 movie

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Customer avatar
narmani
from Burbank
Hello,
The cinematography was great but the script was very poor and childish. I rate the movie from 1 to 10 only a 5.
Regards.
Noraj Armani
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2012

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Skidram
from Falls Church, VA
This is every airport, earthquake and inferno flick rolled into one, only not as good. A movie could be made about all of the technical impossibilities and another about the impractabilities contained in the over two hour visual earache that was this saga.
At least it had political correctness, Biblical allusion and black and white moral preachiness going for it.
My kids liked it and I didn't spoil it for them with my opinions. My recommendation is drop your kids off at this one and see something else.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wait for dvd

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
FloridaCreative
from Florida
This is a very visual movie with very interesting effects. It rates a "0" for any original content regarding the plot. Other than one twist as to the premise of the plot.
If you take a scene from all the natural disaster/invasion films over the past 5 years and combine them, you have pretty much already seen this film with a few technology updates.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

2012

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
FTWASH
from DC
Wait until you can get the DVD. Not worth paying for it at the theater. My wife would not go see Avatar and I had to sit through this. Not horrible but for the younger set not for mature old fts.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Action!

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Customer avatar
anotherjen
from Torrance, California
We went to see this movie because it was the only one that we hadn't seen yet, that day. It was much better than expected. Glad we went to see it. Liked the action and sweet ending.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PURE FUN: 2012!!!

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer avatar
MOVIEMACDADDY
from Playa Del Rey California
Saw it again last night for the THIRD time with a dear friend who hadn't. We both had a BLAST! Best roller coaster ride ever! For a disaster movie it was perfect. It had the perfect number of characters and their stories to keep up with. The perfect number of known stars and the perfect casting every where else. Are you getting the sense that I liked this one? Good.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good movie

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
DrJJL
from Maplewood NJ
The movie kept my interest and had some very worth while messages concerning the essence of humanity. Very appropriate for today as we struggle with issues of survival but at what cost to our humanity. Great special effects and I enjoyed the acting.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Riveting

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Customer avatar
kikibear14
from OKC
This movie really kept us on the edge of our seats. It was what I would think the end of the world could be like.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer avatar
dragonladie2
Better than I hoped for. The special effects made the whole movie worth while!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A downhill run!

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
MIGS909
Great story idea, awful development of the plot... it just goes down , down , down as it becomes less and less believable and more and more Hollywood... just like Hollywood great effects just like plastic surgery but nothing deeper than the skin...
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good movie

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
suzi826
from Brandon, FL
Special effects good. The movie was a little long, but the special effects and story line were good. Many parts were intense and the movie kept your attention despite the length of the film. Would recommend this to others. Worth seeing. Makes you think...
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 next>>