Customer reviews for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The

Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The

Overall rating:
4.94 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
84 out of 84(100%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Review 1 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer avatar
vespagrigio
from Naples, Fl.
The performance of La Boheme we saw on Sunday Sept 27 in Cape Coral, Florida was not a MET LIVE in HD performance but rather a film version filemd in a studio in Vienna,Austria.
This to avoid any confusion or misunderstanding by those who may read this review.
This film version of this great opera was outstanding. I am an opera buff and have never seen a film version of an opera. All of my many opera experiences have been live and in recent years, Live in HD.
The cast was world class, the acting superb and the filming added a new dimension to an already thrilling art form.
I would recommend this particular film to anyone, opera lovers of first time viewers.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great "Movie"

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer avatar
theprncess
I had seen another production of La Boheme at the Met a yr or so ago and love it. Thought that it could not be better, but I was wrong. It was such a great event to see the changing of the set and the interviews. It brought a new slant to a great Opera.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedApril 13, 2008
Customer avatar
Source
from Palos Verdes, CA
An extraordinary production of La Boheme. Beautiful voices, excellent sets, excellent orchestra. It was wonderful to see it on a big screen - we enjoyed it more than live performances because we could see everyone and everything so well.
Because of the excellence of this production, we have already purchased tickets to our next "movie opera" - we've never heard of the opera but are confident it will be a fine production.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Technical Experience

PostedApril 12, 2008
Customer avatar
Phil419
from Hartford, CT
I am not an opera lover and have gone to two of the HD performances this year. I really appreciate the technical expertise of the cinematography. Given the constraints of filming a live performance one can only marvel at the images on the screen considering that the live audiance can not be disturbed by the production. Great Work
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Turn on the Lights

PostedApril 10, 2008
Customer avatar
Gigi
from Greensboro, NC
My friends and I attended the simulcast of La Boheme at AMC Concord Mills, Concord, NC.
The production was fabulous in every aspect except that the HD picture was very gray and dark - not nearly as good as HD channels on our home television. Did anyone else experience this problem or was it an isolate incident?
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Metropolitan Opera La Boheme

PostedApril 9, 2008
Customer avatar
franola
from Houston, Texas
It was so very fantastic! It was truly the best seat in the house plus the audience got to go back stage and watch as the sets were changed and the opera stars entered and exited the stage. The performers and the orchestra were superb. I cried of course. It was Puccini after all. This is the best way to see opera. I could never have see the performers this well up front and with opera glasses. I will definitely do this again and again!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Show

PostedApril 9, 2008
Customer avatar
Fergie
from Winter Garden. Florida
As a former New Jersey resident and NY Met subscriber I didn't know what to expect when La Boheme was advertised at my local AMC theater. I couldn't imagine watching a performance of such a great Opera on the big screen. I enjoyed the show and would like to see more opera's available in movie theaters.
Having reserved seeting would be a plus!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

la boheme

PostedApril 9, 2008
Customer avatar
mali
from media, pa
I enjoyed the show termendously, however, I would like less close ups. I would also be able to have reserved seating. This is a great oppertunity for young people to get involved. There should be more times and showing available.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Scottie
from Avon, CT
This was a wonderful performance of La Boheme. From the set design to the vocal abilities it was outstanding. I think this is better than actually going to the Met You have a closer view and back stage interviews. What more could you ask . ( oh and the conductor is a cutie!)
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
MLN4
from Northern New Jersey
I enjoyed my 1st experience of seeing an opera via simulcast live from the Met. I have seen this opera at the Met & I can say I truly felt like I was there attending this movie. The extras were great too. Star interviews - live - & the moving of the sets. Overall, fantastic. The closest you'll ever gete to attending at the Met.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Clef
from Iowa City, IA
My favorite opera. This production has to be the best I've seen. Angela Gheorghiu was magnificent, and the rest of the cast completed a marvelous performance. Puccini has no equal. The result was glorious. Adding to the experience were backstage views during intermission showing scene changes, together with interviews with singers, conductor, and department managers such as stage crew, set designers, wardrobe, and scenery.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You might be surprised!

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
cayster
from Worthington, Ohio
As you probably know, this is a love story with a tragic ending. It's very well-done, well-sung and well-acted.
The only weak links are the male characters other than Rodolfo, but their inability to put life into their characters is not essential.
The big stars--Mimi, Rodolfo, and Musetta are brilliantly done, and all in good voice.
Lovely costumes and appropriate scenery and staging make this a big success.
Even if you always thought you'd never like an opera, give this a chance. You might be surprised!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It!!!!

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
eltorowave
from California
As a displaced New Yorker and former Met subscriber I was in heaven! I put off going to the movies broadcasts because I didn't think I would really enjoy it. Was I ever wrong!!
Sitting in that seat, I felt as if I could just melt into the screen and be there. I was even looking to see who was in my old seat..lol..
The performers were great and the close ups were an extra bonus not afforded at a live opera.
I missed the chandeliers going up because of a broadcast glitz but I have tickets for the next one already so I'll seeit then.
I'm so sorry I waited this long to go but will never miss any to come.
Never saw people eating popcorn at an opera before though.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
BettyAnn
from Littleton CO
La Boheme was FABULOUS! I've attended the Met, and I've seen La Boheme many times - live and on DVD - and this was the best yet. The voices, sound, set - total production was awesome quality. A big bonus was the close-up performers' expressions, the behind-the-scenes views, the interviews and the spectacular clips of previous shows. I will definitely recommend it to friends.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Performance

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Emma
This is better than going to the opera in town. Not only is it the Met, but the backstage and orchestra pit sections are a thrill. This is a brilliant idea to have these performances in the threater at an affordable price for everyone. We have been going since they started. This week we took my daughter and her boyfriend, who has never been to an opera. He is ready to go again - and another generation will learn to love good music.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
piper
from chicago area
Fantastic! I am hooked on opera from now on. You can practically see the tears in their eyes and the emotion in the face. And the interviews of the singers and conductor. it was like being on stage with them - even when we saw them from behind the curtain - go out and take their bows and cheers. That part was fascinating - seeing the changing of the stages and how many people it takes to make it work. Also, being in fashion design, I loved seeing the attention to detail in both the garments and their background. Very authentic!
Can't wait to order tickets for the next one!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
operaphile
This was an excellent opportunity to see a first rate production of a wonderful opera. I can't afford the Met any other way. The house was packed unexpectedly so had really rotten seats but I still very much enjoyed it. The backstage peaks were fun as well.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An astonishing event

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Zoran
from Rockville, MD
Even this forum shows how specifically this amazing simulcast has united so many people throughout this huge country in their good spirit and positive feelings. This performance of "La Boheme" was celestial one: the ambients on the stage together with the artists - perfectionists in their art of singing and, in the same time, of transformation into their roles (what emotional expressions of their faces we saw, which would not be possible from the seats in the Met opera house), together with the perfect orchestra and the very accomplishing maestro Luisotti, brought the magic to the audiences in this country and around the world. Thank you, all, for such an opportunity.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
matt75
from Brooklyn, NY
The whole experience was wonderful. I loved the behind-the-scenes stuff (make going better than DVDs or recurdings). The live experience was also very cool. The Mimi was outstanding!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Metropolitan Opera: La Boheme, The
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La Boheme

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer avatar
rowan
I took my 26 yr old daughter with me. We had a wonderful time. This is such a great idea especially as many of us will never be able to get to the Met. Opera House. We loved the back-stage scenes.
We are planning on seeing La Figlia del Reggimento, which looked fabulous
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>