Customer reviews for Universal Pictures Mamma Mia!

Universal Pictures Mamma Mia!

Overall rating:
4.534 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(1350 reviews) 1344
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,350 reviews
5 Stars
970
4 Stars
245
3 Stars
60
2 Stars
36
1 Star
39
1,264 out of 1,350(94%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for Mamma Mia!
Review 1 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MAMMA MIA! WAS AWESOME!

PostedJuly 19, 2008
Customer avatar
Phxmovielovr
from Phoenix, AZ
I have seen the musical on stage an even dozen times (so obviously I loved the show and know quite a bit about it), so I was pretty apprehensive about this movie. Wow, was I impressed! They obviously can do more with the movie and fill in little gaps that the stage show is not able to portray. I can give you some examples but I don't want to spoil any of these tidbuts for the people who really know this show. Probably the only dissappointing thing about this movie is one of my favorite songs in the entire soundtrack isn't in the movie (until the credits) and that is Thank You for The Music. Would have thought they could work that one in there... but consider if that is the only complaint, then you need to go see this movie!!!
I agree with one of the other reviewers...Pierce can't sing, but they way he plays it off and kind of harmonizes the way he speaks...it works, and doesn't come off as cheap!
Great Cast - Great Movie - Great Music!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mamma Mia - Here Meryl Streep Goes Again - My My..

PostedDecember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
TheMovieRhino
from Arizona
Is there anything that Meryl Streep cannot do in the realm of acting (maybe anything...)? No - she can and does do everything....and she always does it flawlessly! Streep once again beguiles us with her humor, emotion, her physicality and her singing! Her singing? Yes - this lady can sing. The whole movie has such energy and lift with Streep leading the pack that we can joyously overlook Pierce Brosnan's inability to sing - even though he does give it the old English try. Somehow Streep perfectly channels the 4 Swedes into a gloriously entertaining musical! See it!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Movie is Joyous

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Customer avatar
PoppySeed44
from Delaware, Ohio
I loved this Movie. I loved the scenery. The theme. Seeing eveyone sing and dance and I loved how they set up that table with all mismatched dishes and globets and candles. It was very entertaining.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Musical

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer avatar
mdlntexas
from San Antonio, Tx
I'm generally turned off by musicals, but the music in this movie is wonderfully adapted to create a believable plot that is easy to follow along with. The emotions seem real and the acting is for the most part simple and honest. I felt drawn in to the movie and truly enjoyed the film from start to finish.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TheRealTank

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Customer avatar
TheRealTank
from phoenix
It is a very good movie!
If you know ABBA music you will love it!
Even for those you don't know ABBA you will be entertaine!
Very Good Cinema Quality
5 stars
what i mean by cinema quality is, the time that you drive to the cinema and the money you spend buying the popcorn and the soda, rather than sitting at home and wait till it gets on DVD!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mamma Mia

PostedSeptember 28, 2008
Customer avatar
Lkowalski2
My husband and I went and saw it. It was great.
uplifting and funny. And the singing I thought was really good. I didn;t know they could sing. I have saw it twice now and would see it a 100 times.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mama Mia

PostedSeptember 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Chihuahualover
I usually have no interest in watching musicals but I absolutely loved this movie. It's the kind of movie that just makes you smile the whole time you are watching it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal!

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
tallygirl
from Tallahassee Fl
a wonderful movie! Meryl Streep is outstanding, both acting and singing! It's a "feel-good" movie for all ages!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mama Mia

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
LarryEnok
from Cupertino, CA
Few musicals are produced now for some reason, but this is one worth seeing. Some sterling "Broadway Stage" type performances. Everyone that is a lead in the movie/play has their moments of glory where their character comes to life.
A few laughs here and there, even a moist eye at times, and overall a timeless story. Kudos to the actors, the producers and the background people for making this a pleasurable experience.
Will I see it again soon? I'm not certain right now, but it will go into my DVD collection.
If you can't think of a reason to take your wife or girlfriend, then go to hear the music with a great sound system and make them happy.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
sunshine572
from Mesa, AZ
LOVED LOVED LOVED this movie...ran out after it was over and bought the cd..can't wait for DVD..will be first on line..
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Music Ever

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Arrogantnyer
from NJ
Avid ABBA fan...the music is authentic and spirited...loved Stellan Skarsgard
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I loved it! I would see it again...

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Oceangirl2
from Dracut, MA
If you like the summer, the ocean, a beautiful scene and adventure, then this is surely the movie for you! Enjoy the lifestyle of the South European countries (in this case Greece) and the unforgettable ABBA Songs. And the cast was great.....*the oldies* have fire in them....the age doesn't matter at all, when you have a young heart and mind!
It is a movie for the whole family!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good moive

PostedSeptember 20, 2008
Customer avatar
brownielover
from Virginia
Me and my freind both agree that, that was the best we have seen in months. I would go and see it. The moive was very cute.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Film!

PostedSeptember 20, 2008
Customer avatar
nancy5940
from Phoenix, AZ
I just love this movie. I saw it opening weekend and again the following weekend. The story is good, scenery awesome and music great. Even Pierce Brosnon pulled it off with this cast! I just bought the CD and love listening to it. I can't wait for it to come out in DVD!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I want to see it again!

PostedSeptember 19, 2008
Customer avatar
ningning
from New York City
Great movie... Very funny... I loved the sing-along version and I want to see it again and again and again... When is the DVD out?
I have also decided that I want to go to Greece on my next vacation...
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made for the Abba fan

PostedSeptember 18, 2008
Customer avatar
JJackie78
from East Brunswick, NJ
This movie was so much fun and the actors were awesome
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Greatest since Sound of Music

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Oceana
from S Hutchinson Island, Fl
I have seen this movie twice-took friends to see it yesterday--friends with varied tastes in theater and they loved it! I will see it again and can't wait for the DVD to come out. It is hard to define--it is not a musical but there is wonderful music--it is not a drama but there is drama--it is not a comedy but we laughed--it is not soupy sad but you had moments of tears. Just fantastic story. 5+ stars
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Customer avatar
secondhandlil
from Vero,Florida
Took my mother to see this .I had low expectations going in .Coming out I was delighted >This movie gave us that feel good feeling. my mom loved it , there are not a lot of modern films she even likes. The music was great even during credits not a dull moment .we will be buying the dvd when it comes out because this is worth seeing again and again
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
RGSnAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
I too have seen Mamma Mia on Broadway and loved it there. The movie was almost just as good as in person except for the audience. When you see a musical like this live on Broadway, at the end, the cast has everyone up and singing and dancing. I sang low to the whole movie, but the audience was just too quiet at the end when the cast practically invites you to participate. I guess maybe it's because I live in Phoenix.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mamma Mia!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic movie will buy it

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
mrsshayshay
from san bernardino ca
i took my 13 yr old daughter out to see this movie and we loved it we sang every song and laughed so hard cant wait for it to come out on dvd we may have to buy 2 copy the first will get worn out as offen as we will watch it all the cast where wonderfull. might even go back and see it in the theater. great for all ages.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 next>>