Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
3.154 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Five-Year Engagement

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
jshadow536
from South Florida Metro, FL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Expected a comedy, but had already seen all the funny bits on commercials. It was cute, but kinda stressful and annoying.
Pros great actors
Cons slow, weak story, not what it seemed
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Five Year Engagement - sacrafice and resentment made funny

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
DrLaser
from White Plains, NY
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jason Segel and Emily Blunt are an attractive couple with great chemistry on the verge of marriage when a job offer compels him to give up his career in San Francisco and move to Michigan so she can follow her dreams. Unfortunately, he is left with nothing and his life stumbles and with it so does their relationship. Each new twist that pushes back their marriage further unravels the magic they once shared with him slowly growing stranger and stranger. The scripting is good and the actors well matched. Although somewhat long, its both enjoyable and entertaining.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great low key romantic comedy!

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
TomGar
from Ramsey, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoyed this movie because they didn't try too hard (i.e. - over the top) to make you laugh, they were just genuinely funny!!! Very well thought out, written and performed.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Long

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
kimanlin
from Novi, Michigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair beginning and good ending. Too long and too boring in the middle. I love emily Blunt and I like Jason Segal and both were good but I still fell asleep in the middle of the movie and I never fall asleep at a movie.
Cons slow
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I thought it would never end!

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
PawPrints
from Arizona
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The trailers for this movie showed it to be a promising date movie with a twist on the traditional romantic comedy. Unfortunately, the film was nothing more than a bland series of unrelated scenes strung together to fill two hours of pure boredom. I never got into the story because frankly, there wasn't much of one other than the obvious. The pacing was terribly slow, and I thought Blunt and Segel lacked chemistry. I got to the point where I wanted to say, "Well, if you're so unhappy, move on, dude!" because I was about to do so myself - right out the door. Cutting this to 90 minutes might have forced the writers to tighten the story where it might have been bearable. As it was, this movie ran too long and had little to offer. Save your time and money. This one struck out.
Pros it ended
Cons bad acting, slow, weak story
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Five Year Engagement

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
hillcountrywoman
from Utopia, TX 78884, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Story 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Totally unimpressed with this attempt at some sort of chic flick!
Awful...................slow................sooooo predictable..........soooo boring!
Save your money----what a hype this movie got to be soooo incredibly
BAD!!! Save your money. Walked out of the movie!! UGH!!
Cons bad acting, slow
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun/romantic movie

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
lovelygirl79usa
from South Pasadena, CA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved watching this movie, it was laid back, romantic and fun. Emily Blunt and Jason Segel had great chemistry together, when you have something great don't let it go, you might regret it and be too late...
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth Your Money & Time

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
LuckyinAustin
from Austin, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Immature dialogue. Too bad Emily Blunt will have this on her resume. Very slow in the middle and end. They could have eliminated 20-30 minutes of it but it wouldn't have saved it for me. Too bad! Was hoping this was good. Trailer is better!
Cons slow, immature dialogue
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't waste your time

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Bobby3230
from Southington, CT, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First and last 15 mins are the only part that were semi-good. Waste of time and money.
Pros great actors
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustrating and uninspired

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
PedS
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This movie starts off being very cute and tidy. In short, these soon-to-be husband and wife couple put off their marriage so that Blunt's character can pursue an academic career in Michigan. I asked myself this question from the beginning: why would anyone postpone their marriage and current life in San Francisco for Michigan? In fact, this question was looming throughout the movie because her career is nothing great and Michigan sucks! The work sucks for him, her career is nothing great, and the weather really, really sucks.
Cons bad acting, slow, weak story, full of bad jokes
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suprisingly Hilarious!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
MovieEnthusiast
from Herndon, VA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Five-Year Engagement" is "Suprisingly Hilarious and Stupendously Funny"
"The Five-Year Engagement" provides an intimate look at a couple's (Tom and Violet) life as they get engaged and make life changing decisions which cause them to delay their wedding, which then puts a strain on their engagement and eventually causes the couple to re-evaluate their relationship. The story unfolds from there...
"The Five-Year Engagement" picks up where the 2011 movie "Bridesmaids" leaves off. It's crazy funny, giving you the really "Ha Ha" humor and then the really "Dry" humor. There are times when the dialog comes across as "Gross" and the supporting cast seems a bit off, but all in all the movie is good.
Definitely worth the ticket...
Pros well paced
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 year engagement

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
OmShantiShakti
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What a cute movie-a great kick it-laff a lil-feel good movie.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is your wedding. You only get a few of these.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
redbeard
from Kent, Wa
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
"The Five-Year Engagement" dutifully hits the marks of its genre, but it is also about the unpredictability of life and the everyday challenges of love. The sensitivity and honesty with which it addresses those matters is a pleasant surprise. Both funny and romantic, "The Five-Year Engagement" runs a good 20 minutes longer than it should, but the winning on-screen chemistry between Segel and Blunt makes that a little easier to take. A must see.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.