Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
40 out of 43(93%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
talie24
from New York, NY
Very well done and every part was so well acted. Music was great and I have to give it up to Michelle Williams since I forgot I was watching another actress play Marilyn. It truly gave us an inside look at film making in that time and was so enjoyable to watch.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as Advertised

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
jmvd
from LA
My wife and I thought the movie was "spot on". We enjoyed the story, thought the acting was A+, and we had a wonderful time discussing the character's nuances afterwards. "Hip Hip!"
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Marilyn portrait

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Sandman391
from Ridgewood, NJ
Michelle Williams gives a very defining performance of the tortured Marilyn Monroe. The rest of the strong cast fills in admirably but this is all Williams movie and she brings her role across well. A short movie that leaves you wishing she had stayed away from the President and been around longer.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Michelle Williams shines

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
BigEasyFlickerFan
from New Orleans
Michelle Williams shines in her portrayal of Marilyn Monroe. Williams' moods are liquid, gliding between the many moods that Monroe reportedly had. When she is innocently and playfully smiling happily, you see why Monroe captivated the public. Kenneth Branagh lacks the silky charm of Olivier. And the lad who tells his tale of being bewitched lacks a lot of common sense. But this is a very good movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Captivating

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
wildfoley
from Los Angeles
50 characters isn't enough to convey how good t...
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Michelle Williams Shines in Bio

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
criddic
from Patchogue, NY
Young assistant Colin Clark (a likable Eddie Redmayne) gets to meet Marilyn Monroe (Michelle Williams) up close and personal during the filming of "The Prince and the Showgirl." His story, quite possibly much of it a fantasy, is slight but agreeable. Amusing real-life characters swim in and out of the picture in little extended cameos, the equivalent of name-dropping in the telling of a Hollywood anecdote. But everything you've heard about Michelle Williams as Marilyn Monroe is absolutely true. She is a marvel in the role, vulnerable yet determined to prove herself a real actress to her pompous director/co-star Sir Laurence Olivier (an enjoyable interpretation by Kenneth Branagh). Williams does her own singing, too, and though not as dynamic as the real thing she does a nice job.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Predictable Story

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
laurull
from Weston, MA
Michele Willliams is competent as Monroe, but the performance is not Oscar worthy. The story itself is predictable and dull. The only exception is Kenneth Branagh's portrayal of Olivier - he manages to breathe life into this very average film. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marilyn came alive!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
sunshine78
from miami,fl
Extraordinary performance by Michelle Williams. She did not portray Marilyn, she became Marilyn. It was an eye opener for those of us who didn't know much about Marilyn Monroe. Beautiful and touching film.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Movie!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
jmaz
from New York City
This movie exceeded my expectations - expectations based on general reviews and comments in the media. I feel it's one of the best movies of the year. Williams and Branagh are brilliant, funny and touching. Judi Dench is impeccable as always. Do not miss this trip back in time; it is a delight!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Week with Marilyn

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Neo777
from Columbus.ohio
This was an excellent Movie,and I very much enjoyed it;it was also a sad story,of a very talented woman,who suffered with depression,never seeing her own talent,the only thing about it,I did't like,was,it was too short.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
DoggDiggity
from Fort Wayne, IN
Amazing portrayal of Marilyn! It was both amazing and sad to see how dysfunctional but incredibly talented Marilyn Monroe really was. Fantastic time period scenery with wonderful clothes, cars, furniture, etc. Surprising how she could turn up the heat with her sexuality in a room full of reporters. She loved that part of her life. Incredible story which lets you see the true Marilyn for one week of her life.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Acting ++++

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
HinAhwatukee
from Phoenix, AZ
This movie was mesmerizing. Did no want to leave theater! What a sad story - Norma Jean had a really bad time being Marilyn and vice versa
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Michelle was brilliant

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Cloisonne
Michelle Williams was brilliant as Marilyn! It was a joy to watch her.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Could Have Been

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
FlaJosephus
from LaBelle, FL
My Week with Marilyn tells a tale that could have been but could also be the I wish it had been memories of an aging man wanting to bask in the all too short glory that was Marilyn Monroe. The question of whether the week with Marilyn actually happened aside, this is a very good movie.
The ensemble cast boasts some of the current great names of stage and cinema, They are a true ensemble -- is their professionalism or the director's finesse?
Michelle Williams definitely holds up against such giants as Kenneth Branagh and Judi Dench; she will grow in importance as a major star and terrific actress.
This is definitely a "go to see" if not a "must see" movie!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Acting

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
TeddyBallgame
from Bethesda, MD
Did not believe going in that anyone could capture Marilyn, but MIchelle Williams is quite compelling and totally engages the viewer as "Marilyn." Excellent cast, well done.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All About Michelle

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Sjur03
from Ozone Park, NY
This movie is great because of Michelle William's portrail of Marilyn Monroe as the real person she was. It really seems like they are trying to get to who she really was rather than imitate some legend. MUST SEE!!! This will make you forget Williams made her name from some stupid TV teen drama crap.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delightful

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Gardener
from Washington DC
This was a breath of fresh air - Michelle Williams' portrayal of Marilyn Monroe is a tour de force, and the sweet story was beautifully filmed and draws you in. Yet another example where the reviews for a movie from Viewers are uniformly excellent, and yet the CRITICS are less than kind. Ignore the "official" critics and go enjoy this winner !
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marilyn Monroe and the Memoir of Fire

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
TheAnonymousMan
Very enjoyable. A film based on an old man's rather questionable memoir of a week in the life of Marilyn. At the time, the author was apparently a skinny 24-year-old English bloke desperate to work in film production and completely enamoured with Miss Marilyn. Whether it portrays life as it was or not, the result's a touching film, particularly because of the stellar performance of its leading lady Michelle Williams as well as an all-star ensemble that includes a pretty Hermione unexpectedly rummaging in wardrobe on set.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

They don't make 'em like her any more

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
hgoldman77
from NY
The folly of Men's Health Magazine recently naming Jennifer Anniston as the sexiest woman of all time becomes crystal clear in this moving and lyrical film that purports to depict a week in the life of the iconic Goddess, Marilyn Monroe. Michelle Williams is Oscar-worthy in this role. The film gently and insightfully shows why Monroe was a Goddess. It's a lovely rumination on the seductiveness, perils and toxicity of celebrity.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Lazlo
from Dallas
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I though that Michelle Williams really captured the essence of Marilyn,especially her facial nuances.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>