Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Suspense!!!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
iwatchem
from San Antonio, TX
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice twist on a classic character. Great acting. Held my interest from beginning to end. Minimal gore.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Raven

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
danno1953
from Cartersville. GA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A movie worthwhile seeing. Better than what we thought it would be.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Poe

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
inuamaru
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The movie was great, but there was one little detail at the end of the movie that irritated me a bit.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Chuchowie
from Louisiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As a lifelong fan of Poe and it was dissapointing to see his character portrayed the way it was in this movie. It was a wasted opportunity to credit the one of the greatest poets who ever lived.
Pros great actors
Cons bad plot
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Raven

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Thepantsthatatefredmertz
from kansas
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Interesting idea for a movie. Overall well done. Maybe a little contrived.
Pros great story, great actors
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best pic I have seen this year

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Naomi20
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
John Cusack nailed it , This story of Edwards last days could have been true. This story has it all, love and hate, loss and longing. I will have to see it again.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT MOVIE!

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
artemiss
from Alabama
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was everything I thought it would be from the previews. My whole family saw it tonight and I recommend it hightly. It has a great twist to it, and as far as horror...I wouldn't call it that...although there is some gore in it. If you are wondering about the on the edge of your seat thing...it is definitely in this movie. Loved it, and will watch it again.
Pros great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed The Movie Very Much

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
DanmacK
from Boston
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a really good movie , well worth spending the dough to go out to see it !
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No matter how this ends I will kill him.

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
redbeard
from Kent, Wa
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While not as ambitious or romantic as V for Vendetta ‒ the saga of Edgar and Emily never rises to the level of tragic opera ‒ 'The Raven' benefits from its breathless pacing and stylish camerawork. Part "Seven", part "From Hell", part "Sherlock Holmes", but despite its contrivances there are enough clever nods in the script to keep it interesting.
Pros well paced
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great movie

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Liz0108
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Raven was well done and I would recommend you to go see it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We have a winner!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
MommyLuvsRock
from Washington DC Suburbs
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This movie was brilliant. Cusack brought Edgar Allan Poe to life like no one else could have. The entire cast was fantastic. Truly, I can't wait to watch this again!
Pros great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

An Epic Miss

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Lennox
from Kansas
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
John Cusack is such a great actor, unfortunately, this movie does not give him the chance to perform. His portrayal of the character, Edgar Allen Poe, seems unfocused; he's dark, then a drunkard, then in love. The audience has no time to connect with Poe before he changes into someone else. Only in scenes where he shows anger do we get glimpses of what Cusack could have done with Poe. This story had so much potential but never quite gives you the opportunity to be pulled into the intrigue. There were a few grusome scenes thrown in for shock and awe but it was basically murder, clue, solution; 1,2,3, and 1,2,3... a bit of a slow boring waltz. This would have made a great made for television, three part mini-series. Save your money.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Raven is a Disappointment!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
MovieEnthusiast
from Herndon, VA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The Raven" is a HUGH disappointment. John Cusack's talent was squandered. "The Raven" is a cross between those horrible "Saw" movies and "Sherlock Holmes".
Someone is mimicking Edgar Allen Poe's lurid tales, or rather bringing them to life and death in a terrible way. There have been several horrific murders and the police are baffled until a detective comes in to examine the crime scenes. He sees some familiarity in the crimes. He then brings in Edgar Allen Poe to consult. Once Poe is brought in, a game of cat and mouse begins between Poe and the would be murderer. The story unfolds from there...
The movie is bloody and very violent. There is a lot of drama and suspense. Those are the only good qualities. The movie does not begin well and runs out of steam at the end.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.