Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pass on this one

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
mike123123
from Rockville, MD
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really don't know what all the hype was when it came to this movie.... The first 2/3rds of the movie draged on, and it only became interesting towards the end when things finally came together. The movie was 2 hours and 15 minutes long (But seemed longer!). You think that there's going to be more to this movie when it starts, but then you realize that the whole movie revolves around one act in the movie. I think this movie has lasted in the movie theatres as long as it has given that tthere isn't much competion from other independent films at the moment. I'm a big fan of foreign flicks, but I'd say pass on this one........
Cons slow, long
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Seperation - powerful divorse saga

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
DrLaser
from White Plains, NY
What I walked away with most was a stark insight into Iranian society. The struggle of a family is used to show a broad picture of the system and culture under which they live and how it impacts on every aspect of their daily lives. The divorce that is pending is the metaphor which allows us a glimpse into their courts, their faith, and their families.
This is a powerful drama that pits loyalties against each other and makes all victims of their own weaknesses. And the first victim as always is the truth. Unlike most other films dealing with the subject, this is a masterpiece of a family in crisis. No wonder it is the first film from Iran to win a well deserved Academy Award!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great movie with universal themes

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer avatar
mountart
from santa barbara, ca
separation is a great movie, with plenty of drama, emotion and twists and turns. the acting is excellent! the kind of movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat. it also shows you that although this movie takes place in modern day iran, the themes of marriage, divorce, children, family, lies and deceit are universal.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Bedross
from Lincoln/NE
I had the honor to finally watch Ashgar Farhadi's movie "A Seperation". I have to admit that this is one of the most powerful movies that I have seen in the past years. I have so many things to say about the movie but i will suffice by saying that it is a work of a genius represented by a complex multilayer narrative that transcends any simplistic story and addresses the profound issues of belief, doubt, fact, and realty through the eyes of simple characters.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Krip
In a word: brilliant. Very moving. Riveted to my seat every minute of the film. Very emotional. Even though I don't understand the language - subtitles were fine. You can sense the emotion. All actors did a wonderful job. Go see this movie. Don't hesitate. Lots of questions deliberately left unanswered so you can discuss with other moviegoers.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Separation Weaves a Tale as Complex as the ....

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
TheMovieRhino
from Arizona
... woven threads of an expensive Persian rug. The movie feels like an Iranian Coen brothers movie. Everyone is trapped by their own weaknesses and momentary lack of judgement. Each mistake is built upon by another deceit until everything is entwined into a spaghetti-like mess where a clean, easy way out is impossible. The pick-up sticks complexity is made that much more intricately tense by the differences in the Iranian culture, laws and religion. Unusual, layered drama that will keep your attention throughout. A rhino horn up.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Movie This Year

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Neve
from Brooklyn, NY
While this movie takes place in Iran, the themes and conflicts are universal. Family priorites, the divide between the haves and have nots and the misunderstandings based on religion. There are no heros or villans here. (For even the worst-behaved character I had some sympathy.) Great acting, a complex but subtle screenplay, interesting camera work. A great movie that just by being alowed to be made, gives hope.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Separation

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Elder
Absolutely fabulous, in the great tradition of Iranian films. Gripping throughout, unforgettable in its drama and humanity, whose charaters are all too human and reflect the complexity and unpredictability of emotions in difficult situations. Not to be missed by anyone interested in the people of Iran, the social and economic pressures in their society, and the strictures of their religious beliefs.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the year's best...

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
PedS
from Los Angeles, CA
This is a terrific family drama set in the heart of modern-day Iran. The wife wants a divorce because her husband doesn't want to leave the country with her. The husband really can't leave because his father suffers from Alzheimer's and he needs to take care of him. The daughter is caught in the middle and she is the only one keeping the father sane and the mother from leaving the country. Desperate to change her life, the wife moves to her mother's house and pretends to be separated. All of this happens before things get complicated. Without ruining it, let me just say that the husband gets accused of a crime and the wife has to come back into the picture to help settle things. The Iranian culture and society are revealed and the legal system is scrutinized and indirectly criticized as the husband tries to clear his name. There are additional characters who become involved in the legal battle and the drama become more convoluted by the minute. It all unravels in a very un-Hollywood like way with plenty of excitement and twists along the way to keep you at the edge of your seat. Great movie!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.