Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must see for any fan of the Tribe or 90's hip-hop.

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Mikeychilly
from Brooklyn, NY
A great film that gives a ton of background on this influential group. Shot in an intimate style, it gives a perfect view into the personalities of each group member.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Voyage...

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
JMax
LOVED it....from the realism of the "shady record company people" to the genius of Q, Phife, Ali and Jarobi...what a wonderful contribution these guys have made to the world through the gift of their music. I appreciated EVERY aspect of this well made film (Music, beef, creative process, etc.). Rapaport created a wonderful canvas upon which to display the wonderful artistry of ATCQuest. Thanks for the front row seats to a Fantastic Voyage....
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer avatar
FLGirl72
from Tampa, FL
What a great reminder of what TRUE hip-hop was and should be!!!! Today's hip-hop has NOTHING on this....took me back to the good ole' days of great music, beats & crazy clothes LOL. It was fantastic, highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoking!!!

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
dpower
from NJ
Wonderful memories of how good it was in hip-hop. Being almost 50 myself all the pioneers are my age and I'm very fortunate to be brought up in the NYC area and experience the revolution. Good HIP HOP has long passed us and has forced me to listen to genres of music that still has creativity.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hip-Hop Documentary

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
bgriz1027
from Brooklyn, NY
I loved this movie, it really bought me back to the early 90's when hip-hop was in it's prime. I thought Mike Rappaport did a great job of letting the story tell itself. This movie answered a lot of questions about ATCQ. Native Tongues FOREVER!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very well done! I loved it!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Goldielocs
from Atlanta, GA
Rappaport did a great job! The imagery and rawness of the footage was excellent. The throwback photos made me feel that sweet nostalgia of back in the day. I've been down with Tribe since the beginning ('86-'96 was my era, son!), so this was a must-see for me as a true fan anyway. However, it's a great insight into the hip hop culture and REAL hip hop music. My only fault with the doc is that it focused a lot on Q-Tip & Phife's beef, but the Tribe story is one that needed to be told. There is no hip hop without Tribe, period. Overall, it made me proud to be in the generation from which an entire music culture was born.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
EDouble
from Queens Village, NY
This will definitely go down in history as one of the best hip hop documentaries of all time. Very enjoyable, entertaining as well as being very honest and true to the times.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Well Done

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
pandjam
from NYC
Michael Rapaport did a very good job with his first attempt directing. The camera works as a voyeur or a confessional even, as the group's two MC's tell their sides of the story. I didn't give it 5 stars because Ali Shaheed's voice is noticeably silent in this story and I've always imagined him as the group's arbiter--the guy who has seen it all but through a neutral lens and surely has his own opinions. This is what is lacking.
Otherwise, I enjoyed the soundtrack, the Hip-Hop cameos and interviews, the heart felt releases, the story line, the animations and even the way the film ended, on a good note, with a subtle "to be continued" theme hanging in the air.
A must see for music or history buffs.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hip Hop Classic

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Press
from DC
This movie was great!!! You get the story, the music, and appearances from hip hop figures past and present.
Michael Rapaport doesn't take sides. He lets the story tell itself without all the analysis. You're left with honest accounts from multiple points of view.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

totally fantastic

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer avatar
greatina
from NYC
I loved this movie. It was always a mystery to me why A Tribe Called Quest broke up and this documentary explained it and also took us on an awesome trip back in time to the origins of Hip Hop. It's such a treat to watch, a true treasure of a film. I still miss Tribe and so it was totally sweet to see them again, celebrate their music, and hear their story firsthand. Thank you (director) Michael Rapaport!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Imblessed26
Excellent movie!! If you love A Tribe Called Quest, if you love hip hop, if you love MUSIC go see this movie!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.