Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.655 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
105 out of 110(95%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
pickle7
boring!!!!!!! nothing happens. same thing repeated.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Theatre at your place

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Debbsjo
from Baltimore, MD
My mother always raves about the Met's operatic performances which she sees at the movie theatre. Not the biggest opera nut, I was thrilled to see something in my genre - theatre. And Stephen Sondheim's Company made me rave like my mother.
The performances dropped the jaw (don't get me started on Patti LaPone - A ---- mazing!) and made you clap in a movie theatre. From the acting, singing, staging -- talk about a creative usage of space -- all of it was impressive.
As a movie junkie - I did notice a couple of splicing glitches, but they didn't hurt nor impeed my enjoyment of the production. GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!! And please, could they release a recording of this casts' production?!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sondheim's Company

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
jkayl
from PA
Brilliant! The music is superb, the acting beyond compare.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Company

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer avatar
JanK8
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
Fantastic! My 4 friends and I absolutely loved Company. The symphony orchestra and all the cast members gave superb performances. I expected greatness from Neil Patrick Harris and Patti Lupone, but the others were stellar, too. Martha Plimpton was a particular revelation -- I had no idea she could sing and dance. Years ago, I used to fly to N.Y.C. for a week, get half-price tickets from the TKTS booth and see 7 or 8 shows before flying home fully sated. (Also enjoyed the Shakespeare in the Park series!) But I just can't afford to do that any more, and I really miss it. Since the vast majority of Americans rarely (or never!) get the chance to go to N.Y.C., they may not even realize what they're missing out on. Many don't even know who Stephen Sondheim is, let alone what a remarkably talented composer and lyricist he is -- a true national treasure! We all deserve to enjoy these wonderful musicals and plays, so please encourage the people who provided this opportunity to see Company to continue to film more shows and share them with those of us living all across the U.S. I think word-of-mouth will spread, creating an ever-widening audience in movie theatres in even the more remote parts of our nation. Once more people develop the "taste" for live theatre, those who can actually afford to take trips to N.Y. will very likely show up as audience members there, too, increasing the profits for Broadway and Off-Broadway. So there could be additional financial reasons for filming shows to air in movie theatres, besides the movie ticket revenue. Sondheim's my favorite, but I'd buy $18 movie tickets to see almost any musical or play. I promise!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Energy -- High Enjoyment!

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
cbblades
from Miami, FL
I'm a big fan of HD movie theater telecasts of leading Broadway and high culture events! A longtime patron of the Met in HD opera telecasts, I'm thrilled that other music and cultural institutions are embracing the concept, too! This performance was a not-too-be-missed chance to see some of America's top, top stage performers -- and, clearly one of America's premier orchestras -- strut their stuff! It's still with me: the performance, the staging, the music, each and every actor -- and it will sustain me for a long, long time. Bravo, NY Philharmonic! And, Bravo ! Paragon 13 in Coconut Grove -- a terrific venue!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Being There!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Gomalez
from Richmond, VA
It was splendid! We sat in the "orchestra" (fifth row center) to get the full effect of the experience. For long stretches I completely lost myself in the performance and forgot I was watching a musical on screen. Our 10-year-old boy and 12-year-old girl were riveted for the entire two-and-a-half hours (and we had a very interesting conversation on the way home about marriage and gender then and now). I hope this trend of bringing New York theater to the rest of the country continues: given the alternative, $18 a ticket is a real bargain!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS!!!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
RenaizanceRoustabout
from Ft. Worth, TX
Saw it twice! Was trying to recommend it to friends who desperately wanted to see it too, but with the odd and infrequent showtimes that beacme very difficult. People searched and couldn't see it available much. Glad they extended a week (in Fort Worth, that meant two shows) but maybe the economy of scale would be better if there was a more regular shoing schedule and a lower ticket price than $18.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Splendid Revival

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Uncledougie
from DeSoto, TX
Stephen Sondheim really began his roll of superb, mature and insightful musicals with "Company" in 1970, and this production is just about as terrific as it could possibly be. All the performers are exceptional and Neil Patrick Harris is a revelation in the lead role.
The format of a filmed stage play works extremely well here, and the changes in camera angles are rarely distracting and generally well chosen. I fervently hope more productions receive this treatment, since it strikes me as preferable to simply offering a concert version of a show like this. Might I recommend that someone restage "Merrily We Roll Along" and give it the same treatment? Though the score is fairly well known, it has been rarely seen, and my memory of a local production of it in the early 80s is still vivid for its poignancy and emotional impact. And if the "Follies" movie doesn't come to fruition, this format would be ideal for that show as well - better in fact perhaps since Hollywood frequently alters adaptations of musicals, omits part of the score, and rarely for the better. In any case, for anyone with a love for great musical theater, I cannot recommend this production too highly.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
miscrambler
from Indianapolis
A great production of Company. NPH was terrific as Bobby; that should come as no surprise. Stephen Colbert was astonishingly good. Nice to hear a great version of "Ladies Who Lunch" (Patti LuPone) that rivaled the classic Stritch original.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than the real thing

PostedJune 25, 2011
Customer avatar
blooberry
from San Mateo, CA
First, it's a great show. Second, it's an amazing cast. Finally, the recording and production quality are so fantastic that I was actually glad I'd seen it on the movie screen instead of in person. It felt more real and intimate than any Broadway show film I've seen.
The cast is 100% spot on. Neil Patrick Harris was made for this role -- I'd love to hear Stephen Sondheim's take on his performance. The entire cast was perfect in their roles.
Bottom line, I couldn't have enjoyed it more.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Show

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer avatar
moviechicken
from Bensalem, PA.
I loved the movie. It was as good as actually going to the theater. I loved the music and the cast was outstanding. The movie was very funny.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Entertainment!

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Arley
from New York, NY
Sondheim is at his best as always with great music, thematic melodies and working with an amazing and talented cast. Once you get used to watching a "movie-show" it all falls into place..See it while you can, you' will walk out smiling!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I thought this was amazing!

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
LinnD
from Los Angeles, CA
I thought this was almost as good as flying to NYC and watching the show live. And a terrific example of the musical "Company." It's almost better with the camera because this is not a spectacle but an intimate look at people's lives. And being able to be up close as opposed to 100 feet away (or more) from the actors was a pleasure. NPH did an AMAZING job with the acting. While the role of Bobby is usually sung very well - but a very confusing emotional journey/plot - instead Neil's face/emotions made the story crystal clear for every second. There were moments I understood better than I ever have. And I've performed in this show! Go See This.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good enough

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
sheldonmartin
I thought the cast was terrific, but found NPH the weakest link. Not believable, and not a voice to write home about. Miscast. Music was terrific, more so the upbeat tunes. But I find that to be true generally with Sondheim
(exception West Side Story). My biggest problem was that I expected this would be filmed in HD, and the image quality was as if there was vaseline on the screen.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good News/Bad News

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
JacquesleFou
The good news was that the performance was terrific. This is my wife's favorite musical, and although I had heard the original cast recording, I had never seen it, and didn't have a context until I saw this performance. I now understand her love for Company.
As everyone knew she would be, Patti was indeed great. I'd guess that Elaine Stritch was pleased with this rendition 40 years later of "The Ladies Who Lunch."
Neil Patrick Harris was an excellent Bobby - he really IS a good actor, isn't he? And his responses during the gay byplay with Craig Bierko were, if to be expected, perfect. Being able to see facial expressions close-up is one of the benefits of seeing plays and musicals in movie format.
And Katie Finneran - anybody who can sing "I'm Not Getting Married" without getting tongue-tied deserves some kind of award.
Soooo, no point in rambling on. Nothing but praise for the performers, the orchestra and the staging.
But (the bad news, at least for some of us)...
I'd guess that the biggest concentration of theatre-goers in Atlanta live intown or in Buckhead, but the theatres we could choose from were all in the burbs. If it hadn't been so bloody good, I'd have bitterly resented paying $26/ticket (including the tacky $1 add-on) to drive way out. Couldn't we have had at least one intown movie house?
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Pleasant Surprise

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
t4mst3r
from Miami, FL
I was a little doubtful at first of the cast (except for Patti, she's always perfect), but it was a pleasant surprise. I'm very much used to and in love with the 2006 Broadway revival cast and I was very scared of how the actors would create the characters. However, they were all amazing and extremely talented. They brought new things into the character that I had never thought of before. Definitely worth my money. I absolutely loved it. I hope they come out with a CD or DVD because I would love to watch/hear this another hundred times.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Jackson3
from Flowery Branch, GA
I think the whole show was great! What a thrill it was to see a Broadway show just minutes from my home in NE Georgia!
The actors we're great, Neil Patrick Harris is excellent and quite a showman. Patti LuPone was fascinating to watch and her solo's were amazingly great.
The whole production is 5 star all the way. I totally recommend this to anyone interested in being entertained by a big screen production of a great show!! Close to home, I will be watching for more Broadway productions to come to the big screen, I had a wonderful time.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Company

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
elkaye7
I enjoyed this production of Compamy and was entertained and moved and want to see it again.
I do hope we have more of these Broadway presentations.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Sparky360
from Longwood, FL
Loved, loved, loved this production of Company. Was pleasantly surprised at the creative use of the camera and creative staging of the show.
I'm hoping this is a trend to stage Broadway musicals with minimal sets, amazing casts and fabulous orchestras. Please show more of these!!!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Classic Show

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Colaboy29
from Orlando, FL
I jumped at the chance to see this production of Company on the "big screen". Company is one of my top Sodheim shows and seeing the star power involved was a joy. I live in Florida so seeing a production like this is rare. All the actors were wonderful, though Katie Finneran steals the show as Amy. The music is great but this isn't a show you just sit back and let play out. Like all Sondheim productions you will end up having to think about what you are watching. If you don't you may walk away confused or dissatisfied.
The only issue I really had was occasional shaded lines slowly moving up the projection. They weren't there all the time. Perhaps it's a problem with enlarging a video broadcast to that size.
But I highly recommend this to anyone with an interest in Broadway and/or Stephen Sondheim.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>