Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almodovar is starting to repeat himself...

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
moviesnob1
from New York, NY
Good movie, just because no Almodovar movie is bad... But it's a bit simple (for him) and definitely short on fresh ideas...
We will see if he re-invents himself, but for now he has already produced enough masterpieces to secure the place among the greatest geniuses of world cinema... Even if this movie is not one of his greatest...
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
MittenKitten
from Kalamazoo, MI
What a wonderful piece of artwork. You will not regret seeing this film!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Skin I Live in Has Wrinkles Galore...

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
TheMovieRhino
from Arizona
...and director Almodovar smoothly delivers them in this twisted tale of karma, insanity, revenge, passion, God-complex and sex-change surgery. I enjoyed every second of it. Almodovar's style and method keeps us guessing until the last act as to the full picture and the depth of depravity. Banderas and the entire cast are perfect. There is not a dull moment in the entire 2 hours. This is a weird, strange movie with the most basic of human emotions and excess pumping throughout the production. Original, stark, mesmerizing at times and hard to watch at others.... The Skin I Live In should not be missed on the big screen by those that like Almodovar .... and that like the quirkiest of movies. An adult film and not for the squeamish. This one is bound to elicit strong feelings either way. A perfectly formed rhino horn up.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around excellent

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
maxlikespizza
How anyone can give this movie less than a 5 out of 5 is a mystery to me. This is the kind of movie you can watch over and over again because the interaction between the characters is both fascinating and impelling. Very original story and excellent acting. I found myself glued to the screen till the very end.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

La Piel Que Habito (The Skin I live In)

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Cigala
from Puerto Rico
Escenas repetidas, trama absurda, la música utilizada es muchas veces estridente, molestosa al oído. La buena actuación de la protagonista es lo único que sinceramente salva en algo la pelicula.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRILLIANT !! BRAVA BRAVA !!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
julialvha
from Beverly Hills
typically love Almodovar films & this is NO exception. Such a heart stopping thriller with so many twists & turns..
Antonio Banderas is a brilliant "mature" actor now
enjoyed it immensely & have recommended to all of my friends !
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Skin I Live In - Pygmailon on acid

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
DrLaser
from White Plains, NY
A story of revenge and love in which a doctor creates a woman, falls in love with her, and is inevitably destroyed by his creation. In some ways this is a Pygmalion meets Frankenstein story where a brilliant but vindictive plastic surgeon has created an illegal trans-genetic skin. But the metaphor of it being skin deep resonates in this very European adult story with lots of nudity, drug use, and rape, yet without prurient content. It shocks you as you begin to comprehend the depth of the story as it unfolds in a nonlinear way jumping backwards several times to fill in the blanks and complex family, professional, and serendipitous connections. The story centers on sex reassignment surgery so be prepared.
Almodovar is clearly a master film maker and this is a very strong work with excellent performances especially by Antonio Banderas and Elena Anaya. Not your run of the mill story.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Viva Pedro!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
RomeoBHC
from Arizona
This film did a great job at revealing each character's past. This way I could understand how they became who they are. Each actor/actress played their role superbly. The subtleties of emotion in their eyes revealed more than their actions. Pedro led us through this story perfectly. The music was outstanding. Almodovar has become so well at storytelling through his movies that I anticipate his next one.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unbelievalbe

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
TeddyBallgame
from Bethesda, MD
It is difficult to believe that this movie is getting such positive reviews. We went to see the movie on that basis, but unless this movie is a comedy--we were ;laughing at the movie, not with it--it fails miserably. The plot is pasted together will nilly without logic or reason. The ending works, but it does not repair the ineptitude that precedes it. Go see this movie at your own peril.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Worth Seeing

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
pileated
from Boston, MA
As one would expect, this is an extremely well crafted movie. Almodovar has become a complete film maker and it is a pleasure to watch a master at work. He does seem increasingly obsessed with transgender themes and my one complaint about this movie is the lack of women's perspective. One of his great gifts is how well he understands and portrays women in his movies. Here, they are more backdrop than usual. But all in all, it is a fine film and a fine addition to his body of work.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Twisted, Completely Genius

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
hunkymuscl1
from New York, NY
I saw this is Spain when it first came out without subtitles. I remember the collective gasp when the key plot twist was revealed. Now, having seen it with the benefit of subtitles, I recommend it even more highly. It's Almodovar's darkest film yet - and that's saying something. It's a bizarre story from start to finish - but it's masterfully told. And in all of the twisted darkness, it retains a sense of humor. And more importantly, a sense of humanity. The ending gives a much-needed sense of justice and hope. After the disappointing "Broken Embraces", Almodovar returns to masterful form with "The Skin I'm In." Don't miss this!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Pattystar
Great acting!!! Loved the pace...just perfect for the style!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not one of his best

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
heldenberk
from san francisco, ca
Because it was an Almodovar film, it was engrossing, well acted, and well designed, however, it wasn't one of his better films. I don't think his imagination rose to the occasion. Just because it was bizarre doesn't mean it was imaginative.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dark and truly original

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
jgots
from Brooklyn, NY
This is a bold move in a new direction for Almodovar. The storyline is "twisted," I suppose, but it's fiction, after all - this is a dark psychological drama that takes the idea of power over and possession of another human being to an unprecedented extreme, raising all kinds of strange and difficult questions.
What it is not: an incoherent art film, as some pro reviewers on Rotten Tomatoes said. There is a clear storyline, no random, abstract visuals, and convincing, naturalistic acting.
Viewers looking for a reassuring or escapist story will not find it here - it's Hitchcock for the new millenium, designed to get under your skin (literally). It's unfair to ask a film to be something it's not, so if this kind of thing isn't for you, I'd suggest skipping it rather than attacking it for being unpleasant.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
snyc
from New York, NY
I agree that the movie was beautifully filmed, expertly acted, and had fantastic music. With that said, the storyline was so completely twisted and unappealing to me that I have no desire to ever see this movie again, and walked out of the theater wishing I hadn't seen it, and I'm a big Almodovar fan.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fave from 2011

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
FilmFan29
from New York, NY
Exquisitely told adaptation of a memorably original story. Almodovar directs a brilliant cast masterfully. This viewer was interested, intrigued and moved throughout the film. Excellent!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
RaquelinNY
from New York
I really enjoyed this film. Like many of Almodovar's films, both story and characters range from the weird to the outrageous, but the movie is well done and beautifully shot. A joy to see, and far more fun than I had expected.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The first bad Almodovar

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
benben25
Indeed: the first bad Almodovar movie. Hopefully the last.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hues that kill

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer avatar
aguilarnyc
from New York, NY
Another example that the master of the Spanish Cinema gets better by the year. Inspiring cinematography, colors that stick to your soul just like the naked dialogues he invents. A must see thriller that will echoe in your head for days.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Chito
from NYC
Almodovar at its best, aesthetics, tragic comedy, transgendered, banderas, loved it.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>