Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(663 reviews) 663
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 663 reviews
5 Stars
374
4 Stars
206
3 Stars
56
2 Stars
18
1 Star
9
625 out of 663(94%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
MinnieBean
from Wisconsin, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have never been to a midnight premiere or seen a movie twice, until I seen this movie. I'm writing this a little late, but better late than never. I read the Hunger Games and Catching Fire before seeing the movie and it captured all the big major parts of the book. It did take a different viewpoint than the book, which I thought was kind of cool too.
I know people who haven't read the book beforehand were confused with things, so I'd recommend reading the book before watching the movie to better understand it.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't wait for the next one

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Sunshine1973
from Chesapeake, VA 23321, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I liked the movie, but it needed more back story to it for those who didn't read the book.
Pros great story
Cons needed more explanation for those who didn't read, the book
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunger Games

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
DinSaw
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Without knowing much about this, both my husband and I enjoyed this movie. So much so that we are planning on reading the books and will be seeing future movies that finish the story.
Pros well paced, great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good not Great

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
DaleS
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:few times per year
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Though I loved the artful presentation of a new world and the stark differences of color, sound, and light between the capital and the outlying districts, and felt endeared to the protagonists, enjoying masterful acting, I wish the writers could have gone deeper. I missed any rich dialogue which might have given important insight into the characters, their history, their hopes and disappointments, deeper motivations. Write me some suspense, rather than pop-out monsters. What do the people of the capital really know about the world outside their district boundary?
Pros great story, great actors, jennifer lawrence, art design/direction
Cons not deep enough, earl hamner jr. didn't write the script, dalton trumbo didn't write the script
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Poor Adaptation.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Enosh
from Flushing, NY
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Hunger Games came in as a surprise right after the Twilight series to sweep the box office to another successful franchise. I wasn't a big fan of the book so I decided to wait for the last week of showing to watch it. A big disappointment. A very poor and flimsy direction became the foremost reason for this movie to fall beyond unexpected expectation. The cinematography is rickety and trembling throughout the film which makes it difficult to maintain a glaring eye contact during action scenes and dialogue. The movie was actually supposed to have some action that it totally missed. Of course, the actors were young so nothing more than stern faces were expected from them, which they delivered. Lacked emotion altogether. Overall a very disappointing movie made epic due to book's popularity.
Cons bad acting, slow, poor direction
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Hunger Games

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
TexasNimrod
from Omaha. NE
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't really think the movie lived up to it's hype.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The hungry games

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Deedra
from Rockwall, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:few times per year
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought it was good.cannot what until the next one.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunger Games

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MovieGirl49
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than I thought it would be since I'm not a fan of reality shows. I took my 13 year old granddaughter and she fell asleep, so I'm not sure what that says about it. Decent entertainment.
Pros pretty good
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly Good!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
iwatchem
from San Antonio, TX
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Creepy story line about an ethical dilemna, but surprisingly entertaining.
Pros well paced
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This movie was MARVELous :)

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Katieticole
from New York, NY, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:weekly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this movie so much because I got to see it with my best friend! Not only did we fangirl about it for about five months, but we still do. As soon as the Lionsgate logo came on we were engrossed with hot guys, beautiful scenery, and adorable monologues! I laughed, I cried, it moved me! I have been a huge fan of hunger games for years and it will continue for at least for more years <3 I am a Peetaphile and this movie was packed full of action, romance, and a kind of sci-fi./ It made you want to punch something, hug something, and just overall have a good time! I went to see it five times within the first week it came out :D Happy Hunger Games, and may the odds be Ever in your favor ! <3
Pros well paced, great story, great actors, josh hutcherson
Yes, I recommend this movie.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Hunger Games

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Gemma00
from Yucaipa, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:few times per year
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read the book, and loved it. Watched the movie and I am very happy that i was able to see the movie. I loved it and felt it was well done.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunger Games

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
MoiveGal
from WI
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really liked the movie; however, I enjoyed the book much more. I wish the movie would have incorporated some more details from the book because I think a little of the story was lost. I also didn’t like the shaky camera work and found it making me a little dizzy during parts.
Pros great story
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Hunger Games

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
CBellas
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Art Direction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not like it. It was very slow and very predictable.
Cons slow
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laughed, Cried and Cheered

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
MistressSabrina
from Twin Falls, ID, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I laughed, I cried and I cheered. One of the best movies I have seen in years. With what special effects it was nice. So… over the bang, crash, boom... all special effects movies.
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pffft.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
brich66
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acting 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Story 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camerawork 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Movie is longer than most....over 2 hours. Story not really believable. Just didn't make alot of sense. Enjoyed seeing Woody Harrelson and Donald Sutherland....I hope they got paid alot of money. I view this movie as Hollywood's next best answer (sadly) to another painfully long series of teenie-bopper, jit movies in the footsteps of Harry Potter and all it's sequels as well as Twilight and all it's over written sequels. Just more trash to serve as fodder to the youth culture masses calling it entertainment. I think all the above mentioned movies, including Hunger, serve as a poor reflection of this countrys' current youth culture. My advice, wait for it to hit Redbox.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good adaptation of the book

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Jimka29
Dialogue 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The book is still better (as they usually are) but the movie did a good job of hitting all the major plot points. If you haven't read the book it's still a great movie. If you have, you know it had to leave some things out.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Movie

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Valadamir
from New York
Gender:Male
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice original story. This is a solid movie for the money and is great for all but very small children. There is violence but its not graphic. It's a good movie aimed at tweens and fans of films like Twilight and Harry Potter should like this.
Pros well paced
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunger games review

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Ltpaige123
from Kentucky, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was honestly the best movie ever. The acting and special effects were amazing. Because I have already read the books, I already knew what was going to happen, but then still, it was intriguing. I can't wait to see catching fire!!
Pros well paced, great story, great actors
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad but the book was better

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Jessieg09
from Whitestone, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:monthly
Dialogue 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Special Effects 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Art Direction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acting 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this movie had the potential of being great, great actors, a great book but I didn't enjoy the camerawork, they were trying to give it a documentary feel at times which just confused the viewer. the acting was good but the script was lacking, for those of us that read the book we were expecting more. the actors were spot on, there could have been more special effects and details in the fighting scenes. I did not like the soundtrack at all. big fan of the books and the actors.
Pros great story, great actors
Cons poor dialogue, poor script adaptation
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunger Games

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
heatherboy
from Thompson, CT, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Goes to the movies:once every few months
Dialogue 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Special Effects 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art Direction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acting 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Story 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camerawork 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best movies I've seen in awhile, can't wait for part 2
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>