Customer reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MovieTickets.com.

(Unknown)

Overall rating:
2.968 / 5
3
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
21
1 Star
37
62 out of 126(49%)reviewers recommend this movie.
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hard to watch but well done

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Spiderman1
from Los Angeles
Well done, good to watch a bit too violent and bloody.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Sherbear
from Redondo Beach, CA
THAT was a movie! I had marginal expectations going in - but this film blew me away. Warning: it's shockingly violent ... but that's the point. The lead is a working class kid who falls for the wrong girl. He takes risks to help her and her family and gets involved in a scheme that's way out of his league. He does what he has to do. Great writing here - lots of twists that will keep you jumping. It's a crescendo and an incredible ride! Ryan Gosling is mesmerizing.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Pilot67
This movie is not for the faint of heart but it is an excellent film. The cimemaphotography was some of the best I've seen recently. The violence is graphic and over the top but the acting made up for any detraction by the violence. There was an edge to this movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first scene. This movie could easily will some awards, in the same vain as Pulp Fiction.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drive

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
urbndwella
from DC
I liked the style and pace of the movie because at the center were the emotions and contemplation of the lead character, moreso than any words spoken. For that reason, the violence could have been toned down a bit. Overall, I really enjoyed the movie and applaud Ryan Gosling and Carey Mulligan as two of the best young actors in the business. I also absolutely loved the soundtrack.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Acting But Very Violent

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
JohnnyRocket
from New Hampshire
Film centers on Ryan Gosling and his reluctant involvement with some nasty people. He tries to do the right thing in protecting his neighbor and her son. Good acting, decent story, but film becomes gritty, very violent, unpleasant, and ultimately unsatisfying.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Title is misleading

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer avatar
alohabill
For a movie named drive there were few chase scenes. It should have been named kill as there were many more scenes where someone was killed very violently and bloody.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Expect "Fast & Furious 6"

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Collard
from Pacific Palisades
If you expect to see something along the lines of the "Fast & Furious" franchise it will disappoint you. "Drive" is not a car chase film. It reminded me of Michael Mann's "Thief," in which the protagonist is drawn into a bad situation against his better judgement. Like the earlier James Caan film, "Drive" is more about character than plot
Violence, when it comes, is so fast it surprises you. After one such sequence there is a long scene of a character staring, and you begin to wonder what they are thinking in the midst of the recent carnage. Many such moments are interspersed within "Drive," as characters take the time to absorb what has just happened and come to decisions about what they will next do.
The performances are all very good, especially that from Albert Brooks who, coming from a comedic background, creates an atypical character of purely sadistic evil.
I nearly missed "Drive" because I assumed it to be a mindless exercise in car chases, but after hearing the critics on "Ebert At The Movies" last week I decided to give it a try. I am very happy that I did. It is a little gem of a movie.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DRIVE OFF A CLIFF

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
hollywoodace
from ct
drive off a cliff thats exactly what you will want to do after seeing this film this movie is an epic fail to the tenth power this movie was so unrealistic even by movie standards
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An overwhelming movie with a subtle undertone

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
guts
If taken at face value, Drive can seem overwhelming to most people and leave one with a nauseous feeling at the end. Drive is indeed an incredibly bloody movie, however, it is not very hard to come away from watching this with a feeling that maybe all this completely wrong? Sometimes, to provide a critique of something, one only needs to present the thing in all its reality and the critique appears all of its own. This can be said of the latest movies from the likes of Tarantino, in whose movies, blood and gore are pretty much the order of the day.
In Drive, Ryan Gosling provides an average, unemotional performance as the anti-hero: he is a sociopathic young part-time criminal who gets into a “contract” to commit a crime to help a neighbour’s ex-con husband and realizes that the “contract” has more than what appears on the surface. Michelle Williams, in my opinion, proves to be the saving grace in a movie whose characters all appear to be stereotypes and provide mostly average or poor performances. In scenes where she meets Gosling for the first times, she provides a real onscreen charisma and chemistry similar to the performance provided by the same pair of actors in Blue Valentine. Though Drive does not get onto the level of Blue Valentine’s sublime storylines and acting, taken from the perspective of just this pair of actors, this movie is a very good successor to Blue Valentine, providing what might very well be the next tragic stage in the lives of Dean Pereira and Cindy Heller.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Bran99
slow movie, hard to hold attention, not much emotion
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ryan Gosling the new Charles Bronson!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
alina
from East Greenwich, RI
Gritty, quiet, thrilling... Ryan Gosling is the Charles Bronson of our generation now!
Makes you really analyze and talk about it after!
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gore

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Rcsam
from San Diego
Suspenseful and full of gore. Eight murders and various pools of blood, head stompings, shotguns in the head--who needs this. The couple in front of us left. It was interesting but disjointed I.e. You did not know where Gosling originated. He just shows up in a garage working for half price and racing cars. Great action scenes.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was an ok movie

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Kool
from Omaha, Ne.
I was a good movie to see. I would have liked it better on tv
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boring

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
MiamiVice
from Miami, FL
ie....it was like taking amien and trying o stay awake for 2 hours!
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Customer avatar
BDoll1
from Carlsbad
I thought it was a very good action movie and a cut above the rest.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drove...off the cliff.

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer avatar
njoytheshow
from Arizona
Interesting that this was 'suppose' to be about driving. What, does 15-20 mins. worth qualify? One person wrote, "Not for the simple minded". Maybe not, but it is for the warped minded. Slow, inhumane, and not for those who care about quality movies.
Has it ever gone above 48-49% in the ratings since it came out? NO! That qualifies as a big 'ol stinkbomb! Two thumbs down.
No, I do not recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not for the simple minded

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Rowdireptile
from Jacksonville,FL
Drive is a very artistic approach to a action driving movie. It's a throw back to movies like bullet. I was very impressed for the subtle nature of this movie and thought Ryan Gosling did a excellent job.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Surprised

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
CE27
from LA
Went in expecting to enjoy Gosling in a fast-paced heist movie, came out loving Gosling in a slow-to-start but ultimately fast and gripping intense character-driven drama/thriller. Acting was spot on, style of the film may have been distracting to some, but I was drawn in to the 70's genre-esque soundtrack and camera work. Overall, not what I expected at all, so much better. Had they advertised it for what it is, wouldn't have been so great because the shock factor is what makes this film.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is what I was expecting

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
MilhousDixon
from Arlington, TX
often times I'll complain about mainstream Hollywood flicks and people will ask me "what were you expecting?".
Well basically a movie like "Drive"
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

drive is...

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
mbeezy
from San Diego, CA
drive is the shizzle! watch this shizzle.
drive is the shizzle! watch this shizzle.
drive is the shizzle! watch this shizzle.
Yes, I recommend this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>